Braised Steak Au Poivre in Red Wine

I love Steak au Poivre.   If this recipe didn’t deliver I would not have been a happy camper…😉

Here’s the deal: I love steaks, good juicy rare steaks.  Sadly in the month of January (February and March as well) our outdoor grill has been shut down for business.  I am not a big fan of “frying” or pan-frying meat inside.  It’s a smell issue…we know I am weird, let’s move on.  So to satisfy my red-meat cravings (I can hear all the vegetarians and vegans alike rolling your eyes and sighing in disgust…whatever) I make stews and roast and chilies and….you get it?  It helps…a little.

it did....🙂

Here is a recipe, I have wanted to try for a long time, it is from a book called Delia’s Winter Collection.  Delia Smith is a British Foodie Natural Treasure.  I was given her cookbook by my British friend Tracey (who lives in Fl.) I don’t think Tracey was ever aware of my “dislike” of Winter, being that we lived in Florida….nevertheless the book spoke to me this morning!

Here’s her web site if you want to go check it out: Deliaonline.com

Ingredients:

2 lb cubed stew meat

1 tablespoons whole peppercorn (mine are the tri-color kind)

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 cups dry red wine

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 large onions finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, crushed and chopped

2 bay leaves

1 sprig thyme

2 tablespoons creme fraiche (or sour cream)

Salt and pepper

How to:

Preheat your oven to 300 degree F.

Begin by crushing the peppercorns coarsely with a pestle and mortar, then mix them together with the flour on a plate.  Dip the pieces of meat into this mixture, pressing it well in on all sides. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a dutch oven, quickly brown the pieces of meat, a few at a time, on both sides, then transfer them to a plate.

this picture is as exciting as watching paint dry....

Once all the meat has been browned (and set aside), add the remaining olive oil to the pan and brown the onions for 3-4 minutes, keeping the heat on high.  Add the crushed garlic and cook for another minute.  Add any remaining flour and pepper left on the plate to the pan, stirring well to soak up the juices, add the wine a little at a time, continuing to stir to prevent any lumps forming, and scraping in any crusty residue from the bottom and edge of the pan.

When simmering, add the (reserved) meat to the sauce, season it with salt, put in the bay leaves and thyme. Bring it back to a simmer, put a lid on the casserole and transfer it to the middle shelf of the oven to cook for 2 hours or until the meat is tender. When you’re ready to serve, remove the herbs, add the crème fraiche or sour cream, stir it in well, then taste to check for seasoning before serving.  I served my “steak” over egg noodles but rice would have been nice as well.  Also I sauteed some sliced mushrooms in a little bit of olive oil and butter and topped my “steak” with it.  DELICIOUS!

ALL ABOARD!

Delicious and the pepper taste was really good!

Printer Friendly:  Braised Steak Au Poivre in Red Wine

Peace and Peppered,

Isabelle

Interesting note: redundant fact that I am obsessed with cookies…Delia has NO cookie recipe in her entire Winter Collection…that is bizarre….oh wait let me look under biscuits…(I know that’s what they call cookies in England…) Oh well…still no cookie/biscuit recipe!

Please go check out where I have shared my recipe:

5 thoughts on “Braised Steak Au Poivre in Red Wine

  1. Isabelle, it never ceases to amaze me how often we cook “alike.” I was just telling the hubby I need to do something with our leftover red wine (it was a large bottle…) and here you are with a fabulous recipe! Thank you.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

