No Average-Joe Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Roasted Jalapenos and Bacon Grilled Cheese Sandwich

You can blame cousin Andrea for this one.  I guess I am partially to blame as well.  Let’s call it a team effort to make a simple sandwich something insanely delicious!

Andrea sent/tagged me in a post about Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Recipes.  I replied we should do Jalapeno Grilled Cheese Sandwich, then she said: “what about the bacon?”  So there you have it:  Bacon and Roasted Jalapeno Grilled Cheese Sandwich!  I think this has Super Bowl Party written all over it, don’t you?

My interest in this sandwich came after seeing this recipe: Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich on BSinthekitchen but they are using cream cheese, ranch dressing and no bacon 😦 ….you gotta have bacon!

Ingredients:

Ingredients!

(I know you will be upset but there are NO exact measurements for this, it’s more of a technique than anything else.  Make it your own!)

Roasted Jalapeno Peppers (see this easy way to roast peppers: Easy Roasted Peppers )

Sliced Cheese (I use Pepper Jack and Sharp Cheddar)

Bacon (cooked but not burnt)

Butter

Italian Rustic Bread, sliced 1/2-inch slices

How to:

Butter both pieces of bread.  Lay one slice of cheese (arrange to fit) on bread, top with roasted jalapenos, then 3 bacon slices, second piece of cheese, finish with your second piece of bread.  I mean this is not rocket science, it’s a grilled cheese sandwich, right?

first and second layer

bacon…..oh bacon

second slice of cheese, trust me you need cheese on both sides, it’s the glue that holds it all together

Toast your sandwich on medium heat, don’t have a raging inferno otherwise you will toast (burn) your bread before the cheese madness has a chance to melt….not cool!

Slow and steady is the key to a perfectly toasted bread and melted cheese

Cut in half (or not) and enjoy!

ooooh cheesy goodness!

Note: this is what my husband told me after I made these delicious grilled cheese sandwiches: “DO NOT change a thing about this recipe.  It is perfect!”  AAAAAH, thanks, I like that!

Peace and Cheese,

Isabelle

recipe has been shared on:

11 thoughts on “No Average-Joe Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  1. Oh. My. Goodness! That looks absolutely amazing! I just made a grown up grilled sandwich and my husband started to hand the plate back to me and said, “Don’t forget your picture”. I informed him that it was for him – no pictures. After he ate it, he said that I should have taken pictures and blogged it – it was delish. So…I’ll be doing that later!

    Fortunately, ours are completely different, but WOW – this one would blow me away!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

