Homemade Taco Seasoning

Here’s why:

We love Taco Tuesdays, Taco Thursdays and if I completely miss my mark: Taco Todays (I know: lame)

I am not always right on with having Taco Seasoning at home….even though some may say I am a food hoarder…sometime I forget to buy it.

I love fresh spices.  I know they do go “bad” if left in the spice cupboard for too long.

This is easy and will make me look like a rock star!  Not really but I can rock this boat like the best of them!

lovely spices....great start!

lovely spices….great start!

Allrecipes has a great basic formula: Allrecipes.com mine is somewhat different but theirs is a great place to start.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 1/2 teaspoons oregano

2 teaspoons paprika

2 teaspoons cumin

1/2 teaspoon ground coriander

1 1/2 teaspoons salt (kosher or sea salt is best)

1 1/2 teaspoons pepper

How to:

I like to put all my ingredients in my wooden mortar and pestle.  I then “crush” the spices together.  I find that it releases the natural oils in the dried herbs and spices, therefore a happier marriage of sort comes together!  Put in an air tight container.

smells amazing...love the colors

smells amazing…love the colors

To use: 2 tablespoons per 1 lb. of ground meat, add 1 cup water and let it simmer until desired consistency.

Note: some people like their taco meat “thicker”, you could add 1-2 tablespoons cornstarch to your water if you want.  I try to limit the amount of starch I put in our bodies so I don’t….but do what you prefer.  The flavor will be the same. 🙂

ready for Taco Night :)

ready for Taco Night 🙂

Printer Friendly: Homemade Taco Seasoning

Peace and Rock the Casbah,

Isabelle

17 thoughts on “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Yes, I make this also. And my recipe is extremely close. I found that toasting my coriander in advance is not good. I only toast what I need at the time. How about you?

    I like to make my own curry powders as well. Sometimes I just add what I feel like together and sometimes I make a recipe batch to have in a hurry.

    • I don’t toast ahead of time, I find it taste “burnt” but that could be in my own mind…who knows. I like to have a small quantity ready ahead of time, I like it also on chicken or barbecue beef. I love curry, especially homemade, simply delicious.

    • “they” say that dried herbs/seasoning have a shelf life of about 1 year (max) after that they start loosing they taste and should be thrown out. I also have read that some go “flavorless” after 6 months!

  2. Pingback: Fire and Ice « a little lunch

  3. Pingback: Cutting Board Tacos « a little lunch

  4. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

  5. Pingback: Tex-Mex Stuffed Peppers | Isabelle at home

  6. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

