Knock Your Socks Off Dippin’ Sauces

I guess I better deliver with this title.

I not only have one amazing dipping sauce, but TWO.  Yes, I am an overachiever, one of my many qualities 😉  and modest…. ha ha ha….and funny…and modest….trust me I could go on but I’ll spare you because I am nice and modest… 🙂

My first sauce was for our sweet potato fries I made the other night….yummy.  I wanted something spicy and different.  I had to change the original recipe a little because I didn’t want to go back to the store….because I am lazy…not one of my best qualities!

Avocado Dip inspired by: Ingrid Hoffmann: Avocado Dip

Avocado Dip

Ingredients:

1 avocado (I like Hass)

1/3 cup mayo

1/3 cup cream cheese

1/4 teaspoon chili powder (mine is chipolte)

1/2 teaspoon hot sauce (or less if you can’t handle the heat!)

1 scallions finely chopped

Handful cilantro

Juice and zest 1 lemon

How to:

Put it all in the blender and let it rock and roll!  Enjoy

Creamy and "buttery" dip

FYI: I simply cut the sweet potatoes into “fries” cut, tossed them with olive oil, salt, pepper and a little garlic powder.  Put them in a preheated oven for about 30 minutes (I did toss them a bit more halfway through the cooking process).  Oven at 450 degrees F.

My second dipping sauce is from Saveur Magazine. Mr. Man saw it and right away and knew I would love the combination of ingredients and flavors.  I did!  Avocado, tomatillos, cilantro and Serrano peppers….oh my!

Guacamole Taquero (Taco-Shop Guacamole) Saveur Magazine

Guacamole Taquero

Ingredients:

8 oz. tomatillos, husked, rinsed, and chopped
1/2 cup packed cilantro leaves
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1 teaspoon kosher salt
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 serrano chiles, stemmed and chopped
1 ripe avocado, pitted, peeled
1/2 small white onion, chopped

How to:

Puree all ingredients in a blender until smooth.   Simple and quick!  I like that!

an action shot....just to make it interesting!

Great with chips but even better on Tacos….yummy!

Spicy and a little bit tart, perfect for taco night!

Printer Friendly: Avocado Dip & Guacamole Taquero

Peace and Modesty,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Knock Your Socks Off Dippin’ Sauces

  1. mmmmmmm, anything with avocado and tomatillos MUST be delicious!!! Thanks for the ideas and recipes, I’m adding these to my aresenal of Great Dips!!! Speaking of delicious and so good you’ll lick the bowl, you should try Avocado Hummus. I found the recipe at Family Spice and I’ve made it countless times since. It’s one of those recipes where you can put all the ingredients in a food processor, turn it on, and several seconds later you’re enjoying it. I top it with a tomato/pepper relish and, to date, have not received a complaint!!!

    Avocado Hummus at Family Spice —> http://familyspice.com/family_spice_recipe.php?recipe_id=75

    Happy Wednesday!!!!
    xo,
    Nicole

  2. I love BOTH of these! I will try the first one soon. We LOVE sweet potatoes here but I don’t like to doctor them up with sugar and whatnot. This dip looks perfect!
    I have tomatillo saucy stuff in the fridge I just made…I need to go eat it before Matt does. Thank you for the reminder…

  3. I noticed the “plural” at the end of your title, Isabelle, and you definitely delivered! You even included a “bonus” recipe for sweet potato fries — yes, you ARE nice like that! 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

