Classic Snickerdoodles

I am a cookie lover, cookies of any size, shape and variety.  My sweet husband is very much aware of this love….which has never lessened my love for him.  I make room for all kinds of love in my life!😉

So, it came as a big surprise to him that I had never baked Snickerdoodles and had never tasted them before.  How could that possibly be?  No clue.  I just don’t remember them as being part of the Canadian Cookie Manifesto.

We are going on a little road trip for 5 days, and as a surprise to him I am baking Snickerdoodles for the car ride.  Yes, that’s the kind of gal I am.  Sweet as all get out!

I won’t tell you too much about our trip (yet) since it’s a surprise for you as well.  Needless to say, we are very lucky that Matt’s sister is visiting and she is house/dog/chicken sitting for us!

I found plenty of recipes on Pinterest (I know you are sick of hearing this), but honestly I found 15 of the same exact recipe all over the internet.  You probably already have your own.  This is just my “give it a whirl” try!

Snickerdoodles

Snickerdoodles

Adapted from: Joy of Cooking

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2  cups sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar (for rolling your cookies)
1 tablespoon cinnamon

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line baking sheets with parchment paper or a baking mat.  Set aside.

In a large bowl combine the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a medium bowl.  Set aside.

In your mixer, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Once you have added the 2 eggs then beat in the vanilla.

Add your flour mixture, beating on low speed just until the ingredients are blended.

Mix together the sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl.  Scoop 1-inch balls of dough and roll in the sugar and cinnamon mixture to coat.  Place on prepared cookie sheet about 2 inches apart and bake for 10-11 minutes.

fun times....

fun times….

don't overcrowd your pan...they spread like crazy!

don’t overcrowd your pan…they spread like crazy!

Let cookies set on baking sheet for 2-3 minutes and then remove to a cooling rack.

    smells yummylicious

smells yummylicious

Enjoy,

Matt will be so happy!

Matt will be so happy!

Printer friendly: Snickerdoodles

Peace and Snickers,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Classic Snickerdoodles

  1. For a first-time Snickerdoodle attempt, I’d say you succeeded! Love the “stack” photo and also that you’re going to surprise your man with these — it’s the “sweet” little things that stack up over the long run, as you well know! Have a great adventure!!!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

