Holiday Orange Salad

This is my mom’s (and dad!) recipe.  I don’t make it every single year, but yesterday in the craziness of the Holiday Season I thought it would be fitting.  It seems every year, I think I am ready, that I have thought of every possible details.  Yet every year, I feel I should be locked up in a crazy house a few days before Christmas.

I also have to say that every year something or someone throws me a curve ball that makes this madness even more real!

All that being said, I do love this time of year.  I love having family around and I truly believe in the more the merrier.  I picked up my sister-in-law from the airport a few days ago, my father-in-law decided to drive this year and so he has arrived (with what I would call a cargo truck full of “stuff”!)  Part of this stuff was BOXES of oranges for everyone.  So, when life (or your father-in-law) gives you oranges, you make an Orange Salad….filled with booze!

Holiday (drunken) Orange Salad

Ingredients:

12 oranges (clementines won’t work)

2 cups orange juice (fresh or I use store-bought)

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup white rum (a BIG 1/2 cup….)

Zest 2 oranges

1/4 cup shredded coconut

How to:

In a large saucepan heat your orange juice, sugar, rum and orange zest.  Bring to a gentle boil and reduce heat to medium, let this simmer for about 5 minutes.  Let cool while you prepare your oranges.

watching orange juice and rum boil: exciting!

Do not peel your oranges but using a knife carefully remove the peel from the oranges trying to keep the circular shape as best as possible.  (see pic) Slice your oranges (1/4 to 1/2 inch thick) and arrange/lay in a bowl.  I like to use a glass punch bowl but you can certainly use whatever dish you like.

the orange "situation" NOT from the Jersey Shore 😉

layering oranges is quite a skill!

Pour your warm drunken orange juice over your oranges.  Top with coconut.  Cover with clear wrap and put in your fridge to cool/marinate/get to know each other, at least 1-2 hours.

pretty isn't it?

Serve.

my breakfast....oh how I wish I was kidding....

I am not a rum drinker (shocking) but I do LOVE  the taste of this salad, it is so delicious, fresh and a perfectly lovely Holiday dessert.

Note: In case you were wondering: NO there is no substitute for the rum!

Printer friendly: Holiday Orange Salad

Peace and “one more trip to the store should do it”,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Holiday Orange Salad

  1. Still rationalizing making this for / feeding this to my three- and one-year-old nieces… I can’t wait to try this, Isabelle. Thank you, and Merry Christmas!

  2. Oh! Christmas being a special time of the year even though I don’t drink rum by the glass it seems to be an added twist to so many Christmas treats..i’ll try this orange salad, I think it would be refreshing with a hidden mmmmm…more! Have a wonderful festive season x

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

