Maple Syrup Cake

I have to stay true to my roots.  I grew up on Maple Syrup.  It’s all good stuff.  My mom gave me this cookbook called: “Qu’est-ce qu’on mange?”  Translation: What are we eating?  It is all recipes from local Quebec cooks (not chefs…COOKS)  It is a really fun book for me to read because I remember all these recipes whether my mom made them or when I would go to friends’ homes.  Wonderful memories of food, fun and laughter, that is what I love about sharing recipes.

On a funny note (because that’s how I roll) I went to a “sugar shack” (that’s what we call the place where you eat, drink and roll in maple syrup every spring) when I was about 10.  We were with family and friends, part of this outing included a sleigh ride through the forest.  Oh, what fun!  Well, after the ride everyone got off but me (problem #1).  Why I decided to stay in the sleigh is unknown.  I was messing around (problem #2) and wouldn’t you know it I “spooked” the horse….who took off running like a wild animal.  I didn’t know what to do since I fell down on the floor of the sleigh (final and big problem).  All I could do was scream for someone to come help me.  They did, I survived, and I was grounded….oh what a fun day that was!

Here is delicious cake, please note that you need to use real maple syrup, it truly won’t taste the same if you use table syrup.

Maple Syrup Cake (in the sun!)

Maple Syrup Cake (in the sun!)

Ingredients:

For the cake:

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup oil (canola or vegetable)

1 egg

1 cup maple syrup

1 cup grated carrots

1/2 cup grated and peeled apples

1/2 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans)

1/2 cup shredded coconut

For the hot syrup:

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 cup butter

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter an 8X8 pan.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl mix your flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer, blend your oil, egg and maple syrup.  Add your carrots, apples, nuts and coconut.  Blend well.  Add your flour mixture at once and mix until just blended.  Pour into your prepared pan and bake in your preheated oven for 40-45 minutes.

has somewhat the look and feel of carrot cake

has somewhat the look and feel of carrot cake

In a medium saucepan melt your butter and add your milk, brown sugar and baking soda.  Bring to a boil and cook for 5 minutes.

hot syrup.....very very hot!

hot syrup…..very very hot!

When your cake is ready using a toothpick or wooden skewer, poke holes in your cake.  Pour your hot sauce over your hot cake and let it cool at room temperature, until ready to serve.

notice the technique...amazing, right?

notice the technique…amazing, right?

let it all sink in...slowly

let it all sink in…slowly

Printer friendly:Maple Syrup Cake

Peace and Don’t be messing around,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Maple Syrup Cake

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

