Chocolate Bark

This is my mom’s recipe for an easy treat.  I have been making this for many, many years now.  Right around Thanksgiving, that is usually when the begging starts: Mom, make the chocolate bark.  Mom, did you make it yet?  Mom, why aren’t you making the chocolate bark?  Don’t you love us?….etc…

It gets ugly: “Mom, we know where you sleep and we know where you keep your wine so listen up: TIME TO MAKE THE CHOCOLATE BARK!”

Wow, pushy bunch around here!

I know many of you have similar recipes for this “bark” stuff.  It’s all good, mine is somewhat simple and a no brainer (which is what I like!) I have also tried it with graham crackers and brown sugar…not my cup of tea.  Good, but my mom’s recipe is the one I like.

cute little bags...sadly you can't see what's inside!

cute little bags…sadly you can’t see what’s inside!

Ingredients:

Saltines Crackers (you will need about 1 1/2 sleeves)

1 cup butter (2 sticks)

1 cup sugar

1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup broken up pecans or walnuts

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Line a large baking sheet with foil.  Line up all your saltines on the bottom of your lined baking sheet.  Set aside.

just stating/showing the obvious!

just stating/showing the obvious!

In a medium pan melt your butter and sugar.  Bring to a boil and cook for 3 minutes, while stirring.  Pour your melted butter over your saltines and spread with a spatula.  Things might move around, don’t worry it will all be covered by chocolate and no one will know!  It’s all good!

careful, melted butter and sugar get extremely HOT!

careful, melted butter and sugar get extremely HOT!

glorious melted butter makes everything pretty!

glorious melted butter makes everything pretty!

Put in your preheated oven for 15 minutes.  Carefully remove from your oven and set on top of your stove.  Let this rest for 1 minutes (trust me!)  Sprinkle your chocolate chips over your crackers and wait 30 seconds (I know I am a pain…but there is logic to my madness)  Using a spatula start spreading the news…I mean the chocolate (see that, a reference to a song!  I am so witty!)

    fresh from the oven....rest for 1 minute please :)

fresh from the oven….rest for 1 minute please 🙂

more waiting...30 seconds is a loooong time

more waiting…30 seconds is a loooong time

 

oooooh I love melted chocolate

oooooh I love melted chocolate

Top with your pecans or walnuts if using.  Let this cool for 10 minutes and put in your freezer for 4-5 hours.

    at our house, I can only do 1/2 with pecans....picky little bunch

at our house, I can only do 1/2 with pecans….picky little bunch

Break up your bark and put in containers or cute little bags to share with friends/family/vultures in my case!

breaking up is an easy thing to do....when it's chocolate bark!

breaking up is an easy thing to do….when it’s chocolate bark!

Printer friendly: Chocolate Bark

Peace and I have “back-up” wine anyway,

Isabelle

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Bark

  1. Love! I have never tried this but will! I’ve seen it around in some of the old recipes I found recently.

    Thank you so much for sharing! Do you know how long it will keep? I don’t think the saltines will get stale with all that yumminess on it! ❤ and Hugs Sweet One!

  2. Isabelle, I loved your song references and “back-up” wine — too funny — yes, you are a witty one! Hope the vultures enjoyed their sweet-salty treat — I know I would.

  3. Pingback: Homemade Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part One: Sweets | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

