Apple Danish Cheesecake

I have also called this: apple pie cheesecake….I am just wild and crazy like that!

Years ago back in the 1800’s when I was in college, at Yale to be exact, just before I went on to Princeton and win the Noble prize for Patience….OK OK you know I am kidding, I have no patience, that could have never happened.  So, anyway, during my college days, I would go to friends’ places up in the northern part of Quebec. (yes, it was a long drive from Yale!)  In fact, I would ski at Mont Tremblant.  In order to repay their kindness for letting me stay/crash at their place pretty much every weekend (life at Yale can be so boring on the weekends!) I would make them this cheesecake….every flippin’ weekend they wanted that cheesecake.  Needless to say, I got so sick of making and smelling this cake, I vowed to never make it again.

And so, here I am, making this lovely cake for my Christmas Euchre party tonight….and to share with you guys.  I have to admit, it is a lovely and delicious cake.  It is perfect for the holidays and it seems everyone loves it.

I have found very similar recipes on-line (I always research before I share so I know what is out there) but mine does have more “cheesecake” than what I’ve found elsewhere.

Apple Danish Cheesecake

Ingredients:

For the crust:

1/2 cup cold butter cubed

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

For the filling:

2 8-ounce packages cream cheese (not low-fat) at room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

For the topping:

4 cups apples sliced and peeled

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1/3 cup slivered or sliced almonds

How to:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.  Butter a springform pan and set aside.

In your mixer combine your flour and sugar, add your butter and combine until you get a crumbly mixture.  Add your almond extract and combine well.  You will have a very crumbly mixture (not a soft dough).  Dump all your crust in your prepared pan.  With clean hands press your crust to shape the pan.  You will want to go about 1 to 1 1/2-inch on the side of your pan.  Set aside.

crust crumbs (say that 3 times fast!)

easy crust....that's my kind of crust!

In your mixer add your cream cheese and mix for about 30 seconds to softened.  Add your sugar and mix well.  Add one egg at a time.  Finally add your vanilla.  Pour your cream cheese mixture over your crust.  Set aside.

creamy cheesy filling

In a large bowl combine your apples, cinnamon, brown sugar and flour.  Toss to coat your apples well.

Time to “arrange” your apple topping.  Today, going against everything I stand for, I “patiently” put the apples in a decorative pattern.  I never do that, first off the cake will taste the same whether the apples look pretty or not.  Second….I have no patience!  I normally would dump the apple mixture on top of it all and pop it in the oven…..but not today!

see how pretty my apples are? No one will notice....

Put your cake in your preheated oven for 10 minutes.

Remove cake from oven and lower oven temperature to 300 degrees F.  Add slivered or sliced almonds and put your cake back in the oven for 1 hour.

time for the almonds to make an appearance!

Let cool completely and refrigerate for 3 hours prior to serving.

fresh from the oven, smells like apple pie!

Printer friendly: Apple Danish Cheesecake

Peace and Pop,

Isabelle

I DID NOT GO TO YALE…. in case you were wondering… ha ha ha I know you weren’t, it was worth a shot!

9 thoughts on “Apple Danish Cheesecake

  1. Just as an aside, that’s not an excessive amount of cream cheese. My mother’s NY Cheesecake recipe involves 5 packages. Anything less than 4 is not NY style (a.k.a. inferior :-P)

    But that looks tasty nonetheless. The apples look so pretty on top!

  2. OK, I know that I subscribed to your blog before because when I clicked on the button to “sign-up” and started to type my e-mail address, my address automatically popped up. So, I will try this again. I have a spam folder, but no e-mails from you there, and I don’t seem to have a junk folder. Anyhow, I wanted to tell you that I brought home one small piece of this apple cheese cake and let the 3 of my boys all try it this morning. They all loved it!!!! They all asked if I could make it for them. Although, I am sure mine won’t be nearly as good as yours!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

