Sweet Baked Chicken

I have officially wasted HOURS on Pinterest.  If you are not familiar with it…go at your own risk.  It is crazy how many links you can find for chicken recipes, homemade Nutella and how to change a t-shirt into something fancy!  It is fun, but lord oh lord what a time stealer it is!

On one of my wasted hour or two (and I am being conservative here!) I saw this recipe for: Honey Sauced Chicken , I like the concept but….

Only problem: I do not like honey…at all.  So I had to come up with something I would tolerate.  I really like the steps for this recipe which they found in: Crock Pot Recipe Card Collection.  The other nice thing is that you can make this in your slow cooker or in the oven.  Works for me because honestly at times, the slow cooker means I have to plan ahead and have all ingredients on hand….at 7am!  Not always realistic for me!

Both Sunshine and Bear love sweet Asian type Chicken so I am hoping this will be the ticket for a quick homemade sweet chicken recipe. (i.e. less sodium and no fake stuff inside!)

Sweet baked chicken for the ladies (and the gentlemen as well!)

Ingredients:

2 pound chicken tenders  or breasts cut into bite size pieces (your choice)

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 cup agave nectar/syrup

1/4 cup soy sauce (low sodium if possible)

1 small onion finely chopped

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

1 tablespoon sesame seeds

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

3 tablespoons ketchup

1 tablespoon olive oil

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 green onions thinly sliced (for serving)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

In a large bowl, combine your agave syrup, soy sauce, onion, garlic, sesame seeds, Worcestershire sauce, ketchup, olive oil, and cayenne pepper.  Bottom line; everything but the chicken and the green onions!  Mix well.  Set aside.

lovely marinade

In an 8×8 pan (glass or metal) put your diced chicken and season with salt and pepper.  Pour your sauce over your chicken and combine to coat your chicken well.  Put in your preheated oven for 35-40 minutes.  Stirring after 20 minutes.  Serve over noodles or rice.

salt and pepper is key to perfect seasoning

everything well coated and ready to bake

great aromas and lovely color

Simple and the kids will love it!

Note: I love the “low-fat” option of the chicken breast but I personally would like boneless skinless chicken thighs…my favorite and they are pretty cheap!

Delicious!

Printer Friendly: Sweet Baked Chicken

Peace and Sweet,

Isabelle

Recipe linked here as well:

8 thoughts on “Sweet Baked Chicken

  1. Isabelle, your oven version sounds delish! I had to laugh, though — before I got to the bottom of your marinade photo, I said to myself, “What a beautiful marinade!” Then I saw your caption at the bottom and it said “lovely marinade.”🙂 We just thoroughly enjoy food, don’t we?! Have a great day!

  2. Agave is my new add to everything. I cannot wait to try this chicken recipe. I hope you pinned it. HAHA. I spent a lot of time on Pinterest too. It is addicting. Be sure to come and visit us on Friday 12/2. We have a wonderful give away from The Shabby Apple.

  3. Did you say homemade Nutella??? Say what?? I need not even go there!!! I love this recipe and so will my kiddos. Great week night meal and I will be giving this a try. Thanks so much for sharing, Isabelle!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

