Pate with Balsamic Onions

Nerd Alert.

I am completely absolutely crazy about Chef Anne Burrell’s new cookbook: Cook like a Rock Star.  Simply delicious!

I don’t need another cookbook….I really don’t but I want this one.  I showed it to Matt…well it’s close to Christmas so I have to drop hints…just in case.  Here’s the thing, I knew I was in trouble when I started reading it and I had every page marked with a little tab “to make”.  It is a pretty, pretty book, and since I am the queen of visual recipes, Anne had me hooked on the first page.

So I had to take a breather and decide….what do I want to share with you guys?  I mean, I wish I could make every single recipe but let’s be real, it’s not happening.  So I thought why don’t I pick somethings –  a couple recipes and give it a whirl (or world…that’s how weird I am…I give it a world!)

I know some of you are not Anne fanatics…give it a chance.  This woman knows how to cook.  Plus, she is fun, she laughs, she smiles…it seems like she is having a ball, and THAT is cool!

Note: my sweet husband saw on the grocery list the ingredients for this recipe and said:”uh…when are you making this pate stuff? Because I would really like it if you made it when I am not here, I don’t want to smell this”.  OKEY DOKEY!

I know not everyone is a pate lover, but I AM.  So there, I am making it and I will eat it!  I am easy like that!  Also, since living in Indiana, pate is not a regular grocery store item.   it is soooo expensive here, therefore, making a great pate at home is AWESOME!  It is for the nerd in me anyway!

Ingredients:

For the balsamic onions:

Olive oil

2 large onions, sliced

Salt

1 cup balsamic vinegar

For the chicken liver pate:

Olive oil

2 to 3 anchovy fillets

2 tablespoons capers

2 garlic cloves smashed

1 pound chicken livers, cleaned and rinsed

1 cup white wine (dry is better: I had sauvignon blanc)

1 french baguette cut in to 1/2-inch slices, toasted or grilled

How to:

To make the onions: Coat a large saute pan with olive oil and add the onions. Season the onions with salt and bring the pan to a medium-high heat. Cover and sweat the onions for 15 to 20 minutes. Add the balsamic and cook for another 20 to 25 minutes or until the balsamic is syrupy. Use right away, or place in an airtight jar and store in the refrigerator until ready to use.

from this....

to this....

To make the chicken liver pate: Coat a large saute pan with olive oil and add the anchovies, capers and garlic. Bring to medium heat and saute until the anchovies have dissolved.

Add the chicken livers, turn up the heat and saute for 3 to 5 minutes and cook until the livers are about 1/2 to 3/4 of the way done. Add the wine and cook for 3 to 4 minutes or until the wine has reduced by half, the mix should still be pretty soupy.

Transfer everything to a food processor and puree until smooth. Season with a little salt, if needed, and loosen with a little olive oil if needed.

Spread each toast with the pate and top with balsamic onions.  Sprinkle with finely chopped chives (optional)

Simple and delicious appetizer

Note: the balsamic onions are delicious on their own. Perfect for a panini or a turkey sandwich, or even on a pizza.

Printer Friendly: Pate with Balsamic Onions

Peace and Cool Cookbooks,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Pate with Balsamic Onions

  1. I know you Heart Anne 😉 Good pictures! This is funny timing. My cousin made a mushroom pate on Thanksgiving. She is a very good cook. BUT, it really was just pureed mushrooms and shallots. NOT pate. This is pate to me. Great post!

  2. I’m glad you made something “just for you” — bet you smiled and laughed just like Chef Burrell! (But then, I picture you as having a ball in your kitchen all the time!) Hope you find this cookbook under the Christmas tree. 🙂

  3. That looks so delicious and you make it sound and look so easy! Hope you have a wonderful holiday. Come visit. We have pumpkin fried rice today. We are also having our second giveaway this week. Friday come over and register for a party dress from The Shabby Apple. Yahoo!

  4. I hope to make this soon. Do not have anything needed though. Out of Balsamic, no chicken livers. I have a good amount of capers but no anchovies.

    I am going to look for a can of anchovies at the Dollar Tree….. hummm.

    I love Pate and this is the easiest recipe I have ever seen. Can’t wait to indulge.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

