Red Enchiladas

It is difficult for me to make something other than my Green Enchiladas…because not that I want to brag but my green enchiladas are pretty much perfect in my book.  Hey, it’s my blog I can at least admit to that!  I have a pretty good recipe for Red Enchiladas which I want to share with you guys today.  I don’t make these quite as much and to be honest I often have made them with the can (oh my!) enchilada sauce.  THE HORROR, I know 🙂

Fear not, this sauce is easy and we no longer have an excuse for using the canned stuff.  Although today, I think I made it a little too spicy for the girls but oh well….a little heat can go a long way!  I am making them Huevos Rancheros….see even I can admit a mistake and give them something else for dinner/supper (although as you know I believe in eating what you are served…unless the chef tries to kill you with spices!)

OK, out with it already: by far one of my worst pics….but let’s quickly move past this!

please, please do not judge this dish by this horrible pic...please

please, please do not judge this dish by this horrible pic…please

Ingredients:

1 pound ground beef  (or chicken or turkey or even pork will work)

10 flour tortillas (or corn what ever you prefer….we are a flour household)

1 medium onion chopped

2 garlic cloves crushed and chopped

1 jalapeno chopped (optional…this is where I was being too bold!)

1 can small diced tomatoes (14.5-ounces) NOT drained

1 small can tomato paste (6-ounces)

1 cup beef broth (or chicken if using ground chicken or turkey…or vegetable…just don’t use water: FLAVOR people!)

1 tablespoon chili powder (I like chipolte)

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1/8 teaspoon sugar (trust me….)

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

1 1/2 cup shredded mexican blend cheese

How to:

For the sauce:

In a large dutch oven heat 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Add you onion, garlic and jalapenos (if using), let this sweat on medium heat for 3-4 minutes.  Add your tomatoes, tomato paste, beef broth, chili powder, cumin, sugar, salt and pepper.  Let this simmer for 5-10 minutes.  Using an immersion blender (or blender) puree your sauce until you have a smooth consistency.   Return to stove top and keep warm.  In a large saucepan brown your meat.  (make sure to season your meat with salt and pepper).  Add 1/2 cup of your red sauce and 1/2 cup shredded cheese to your meat. Mix well.

    red sauce coming together nicely

red sauce coming together nicely

beautiful red enchilada sauce

beautiful red enchilada sauce

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.  Spray or butter a 13×9 inch baking dish, spread 1/2 cup of red sauce on the bottom of your dish.  Set aside.

Time to assemble, I like to use the assembly line technique but do what works for you.  I simply lay out all my tortillas on a (clean!) counter and scoop 1/4 cup of meat filling in each.  I like the row/assembly line technique because it’s never quite 1/4 cup and I like things to be even.  Roll your tortillas and lay seam down in your prepared dish.  Pour the remaining sauce over your enchiladas.  Sprinkle with 1 cup shredded cheese.  Cover with foil and put in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Remove foil and bake another 15 minutes.  Serve over rice and beans. (or corn in my case!)

    the assembly line...in case you were wondering how nerdy I am!

the assembly line…in case you were wondering how nerdy I am!

good little tortilla soldiers....what?

good little tortilla soldiers….what?

 

    like a tasty red blanket... (I've got to stop these comments...)

like a tasty red blanket… (I’ve got to stop these comments…)

Cheese makes everything better

Cheese makes everything better

 

    Oh hello there....yumminess all ready to go!

Oh hello there….yumminess all ready to go!

I won’t torture you with another picture of my serving.  I wish I could have taken another one, maybe of leftovers but I didn’t and that’s how it goes!

Printer friendly: Red Enchiladas

Printer friendly for green enchiladas (just in case!): Green Chicken Enchiladas

Peace and Red Blanket…really?  That’s the best I could come up with????  Geez!

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Red Enchiladas

  1. Those look delicious!!!!!! Hey, if I don’t say it later, I hope you and your loved ones have a very happy Thanksgiving. Husband and I are leaving for Kentucky on Monday so I’m super-duper excited about being “home” for the holiday.

    xoxo,
    Nicole

  2. I made these for dinner tonight. They were a big hit. The sauce is SO much better that what comes in a can; there’s no comparison. I knew the sauce would be good before I made it, so I doubled it and put half in the freezer for another quick meal sometime.

  3. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

