Marshmallow Squares

Saturday our little Sunshine (well she’s not that little anymore, she is almost as tall as me!) wanted to have a bonfire.  Matt and I love having her friends over, girls and boys.  To tell you the truth I much prefer that they are here than God knows where…I like having close proximity to my teenage daughter!  We do try to make the house teenager/fun/friendly/hangout kind of place.  It seems to work because they keep coming back.  Which also means: FOOD and lots of it.  They sure can eat.

Since it is not really super warm and they all have the attention span of nats, meaning they won’t stand there taking the time to “grill” something.  I decided to make a dessert that I could make ahead of time with similar flavors to S’mores.  Should hit the spot!

I found the original recipe in this French Canadian Cookbook my mom gave me.  It’s a compilation of recipes from cooks around our lovely province of Quebec:  Qu\’est ce qu\’on mange?  I couldn’t find a web site for the book nor a direct link but you can purchase the actual book on Amazon.com.

Marshmallow Squares

Ingredients:

32 marshmallows (the regular size one, not small and not the new oversized)

1 tablespoon water

1 can sweet condensed milk (14-ounce)

2 cups whipping cream

Graham crackers (get a box…I think I used about 2/3 of it…then again I ate quite a few!)

1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (not in original recipe, optional)

How to:

In a double boiler melt your marshmallows with 1 tablespoon water.  Yes, it will be a huge sticky mess but bare with me, it’s worth it!  Once melted remove from heat.  While constantly whisking add your sweet condensed milk.  Put in refrigerator for 1 hour.

Melted Marshmallows, water and condensed milk= STICKY!

In a large bowl, whip your cream until you have firm peaks.  Gently fold your whipped cream into your cooled marshmallow mixture.  Using a rubber spatula seems to work best.

Beautiful Marshmallow Cream...YUMMY

Butter a large 9×13 casserole dish.  Starting with your graham cracker, build your layers of sweet marshmallow cream and graham crackers, ending with your marshmallow cream.  (see pic)  You should have 3 layers of each.  Melt your chocolate chips in microwave for 20-30 seconds and drizzle over the last layer of marshmallow cream, using a knife run through the chocolate to spread and mix with cream.

First layer: Graham Crackers

Next Marshmallow Cream...feel free to lick your fingers... 🙂

keep going....3 layers of crackers and 3 layers of cream!

Final layer is marshmallow cream then melted chocolate

Put in your freezer for at least 6 hours (best if up to 24 hours)

Cut into squares and serve.

Like a marshmallow ice cream cake! So good 🙂

Printer Friendly: Marshmallow Squares

Peace and Nats,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Marshmallow Squares

  1. yum …. yum ….. and YUM! My new mission in life is to find a safe alternative to condensed milk that’s dairy/milk free (my food allergy). So many super-yummy recipes call for that one ingredient. GRRRR!!!!

    I hope the teenagers appreciated and enjoyed this dessert …. and the bondfire too. What fun!!!

    xoxo,
    Nicole
    http://mrshutchison.wordpress.com/

  2. Isabelle, I can picture your home as a designated hang-out. Kids go where they feel loved! (Good food, too!) Liked your addition of chocolate on top of these indoor S’mores, but it was a surprise to find out they were frozen! You’re always full of surprises! 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

