Scones, not just a memory

Canadian Parliament, Ottawa, Ontario, BEAUTIFUL Canada :)

Canadian Parliament, Ottawa, Ontario, BEAUTIFUL Canada🙂

Years ago when I lived in Ottawa, I would stop by this great deli and buy these wonderful ham and cheddar scones with an extra dark coffee.  I have never really been one to eat sweet stuff for breakfast.  I am much more of a savory kind of breakfast eater.  I am also not a big fan of fancy shmancy coffee.  Don’t get mad but I don’t even like to walk into Starbucks.  It’s too complicated for me.  Last time I was in there was because of Janine.  She ordered something that took way too many words to be associated with coffee.  The “barista” (see, I am no dummy I know what a coffee person is…) looked at me and I sheepishly said: “coffee black”.  She literally stood there waiting for me to say more.  I had nothing more to say.  I just want coffee, that’s all, hot coffee.

OK enough about coffee, I care way more about this scone situation.  In fact, I have not been able to satisfy this craving for quite some time.  I love scones but I even love them more when cheese is involved.  Extra Sharp Cheese that is!  I have to figure this or I will have to fly back to Ottawa!  Knowing my luck the deli is now closed and no one knows where the chef went.

So I did my research….believe you me there are a lot of recipes out there for scones.  I did find a very nice recipe on the Mennonite Girls Can Cook web page: Savory Cheddar Scones.   What I would like is the addition of ham….small tiny little pieces of ham….and no fresh dill.

Ham and Cheddar Scones

Ham and Cheddar Scones

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup butter (cubed or diced)

1 cup buttermilk

2 eggs

1 cup shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese (original recipe called for grated but I NEED to see my cheese!)

1 teaspoon dill weed (I don’t like dill but feel free to use it…I won’t be mad)

1 tablespoon finely chopped fresh chives

1/2 cup finely chopped ham (not in original recipe, I use leftover baked ham…DELICIOUS!)

How to:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Line or grease a large baking sheet or a cast iron skillet, if using skillet, put in your oven while it is preheating.  Set aside.

In a large bowl (or mixer) combine flour, baking powder and salt…cut in butter to form pea-sized pieces.  Add your shredded cheese, diced ham, chives and dill (I won’t but you can!), mix well.  Mix eggs and buttermilk and quickly add them to the flour mixture.  Combine just until blended.  Dump the dough onto a well-floured surface and knead a few times.  Form your dough into a circle (about 1-inch thick), cut into 8 wedges, place on your prepared baking sheet or “hot” cast iron skillet.  Bake in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes.

very sticky situation, make sure your hands are very well floured

very sticky situation, make sure your hands are very well floured

makes a circle about 9-10 inches

makes a circle about 9-10 inches

 

if you are using a baking sheet the scones do not have to touch

if you are using a baking sheet the scones do not have to touch

Note: I often use the baking sheet technique and I know it will work fine but today I did the cast iron pan just because it’s fun!

golden, delicious and extremely moist, the perfect scone

golden, delicious and extremely moist, the perfect scone

Another note: my good intention for using a cast iron pan (a HEAVY cast iron pan) instead of a somewhat light baking sheet cost me dearly….look at my counter top!  The cast iron pan slipped right out of my hand and nicked my counter top!  dang!

:( ....on the other hand I am getting closer to getting new counter tops!

😦 ….on the other hand I am getting closer to getting new counter tops!

Above picture of Ottawa from: lifestyle.iloveindia.com

Printer Friendly: Ham and Cheddar Cheese Scones

Peace and Cheese please,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Scones, not just a memory

  1. This looks great! When I feel like I can eat without feeling sick, I might have to try this recipe!! Do you think bacon would work or do you think something will be lost in translation??

    On a side note, I hate Starbucks most of the year. Bad coffee. Bad everything. Overpriced crap, I think. But right around February they have this Caramel Brulee Latte that I die over. Nick introduced it to me last year and it took everything in me to have self control. I could have had 3 a day. But it’s terribly overpriced. I was lucky to con Nick into getting me one each day. If you ever venture back into Starbucks, wait until they start advertising for that and try one. You won’t be disappointed.

  2. Pingback: Spinach, Onions and Bacon Frittata | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

