Alfredo Pizza or how to keep Matt happy!

This is a pizza I like to make when I know it’s time to make Matt feel special.

My husband is a very straight shooter.  Black and white kind of guy.  He also has a great sense of humor.  I am the goofy one…he’s not at all goofy…unless he is under anesthesia…then he’s really goofy.

I am always a nervous wreck if Matt has to have surgery.  I get really crazy and my mind is but a blur.  This will sound extremely selfish but I wouldn’t be allowed to be the free spirit kind of gal I am without him.  He works extremely hard, not only at the Fire Department but also with his side businesses.  I, let’s face it, keep busy 24-7 but they would have to lock me up in a crazy house if I had to work a 9-5 job…especially in an office.  See post: Why I will never be a superstar.  All these “facts” are also applicable for me in an office setting!

So, Matt had to have a colonoscopy, well I demanded he get one.  On the day of, in my usual Isabelle fashion, I was a wreck.  They (the medical savants) take him away for what seemed like hours.  He finally comes back to me.  He is quite out of it but somewhat relaxed.  Then the doc comes in, laughing…laughing a lot.  He looks at me and says: “your husband insisted I tell you that while he was about to fall asleep and I start the procedure the song “I like it that way” by the Backstreet Boys was playing on the radio in the operating room”! OMG, I couldn’t stop laughing.  Yes, when my husband is under anesthesia, he has been known to flirt with nurses, demand milkshakes, invite strangers to our house….etc…and now he has found the perfect song for a colonoscopy!

Here’s to an healthy colon!

Although I am unsure this pizza is what is needed for colon health but it does keep our relationship healthy!

Alfredo Pizza

Ingredients:

1 package store bought pizza dough (or homemade what ever rocks your world)

Olive Oil

1 tablespoon dried oregano (or to taste)

1 tablespoon dried basil (or to taste)

1 teaspoon dried pepper flakes

3/4 cup low fat Alfredo Sauce

2 cups shredded chicken (rotisserie, baked, grilled, etc…whatever you have on hand)

1 cup sliced mushrooms (any type works)

1/4 cup sliced pepperoncini (you could also do jalapenos but it will be SPICY!)

2 cups Italian style shredded cheese (one bag should do it)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

On a large baking sheet spread your pizza dough and drizzle with olive oil (see pic), you will need approximately 2 tablespoons olive oil.  Sprinkle your dry oregano, basil and pepper flakes.  “Par-Bake” in your preheated oven for 5 minutes.

the olive oil

then the herbs and the dried peppers....mmmm smells good already!

Remove from the oven and add your Alfredo sauce.  Followed with the chicken, mushrooms, pepperoncini, finally the cheese.  Bake in your preheated oven for 15-20 minutes until nice and golden.  I also like put the pizza under the broiler for 2 minutes to really give the cheese that crunchiness we love.

the alfredo sauce...the pic is kind of weird but trust me the taste is great

then came the chicken...or I added the chicken!?

mushrooms...are you bored yet?

OK, FINALLY....the pepperoncini and the cheese! 🙂

beautiful golden color and the smell is amazing!

I know this is not the invention of the century but believe me when I tell you; it is delicious.  Also, I know it’s somewhat unusual to par-bake the crust but otherwise it stays very mushy and I don’t like mushy crust.

this was the only leftover piece, I was lucky enough to take another pic!

Printer Friendly:Alfredo Pizza

Peace and Backstreet Boys Baby!

Isabelle

Recipe linked here as well:

10 thoughts on “Alfredo Pizza or how to keep Matt happy!

  1. This looks awesome, Isabelle! And, I love that you used a store bought pizza dough….sometimes I’m just way toooooo busy to get all floured up!! xoxo Ally

    • I like to reheat my pizza in a cast iron pan on the stove top, I know it sounds weird but it keeps the crust from getting too mushy. But yes it does reheat well and great for lunch the next day…if there is any left!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

