Olive Oil Cake

Sunday night was the premiere of “The Next Iron Chef”.  I was so excited, I could hardly contain myself.  Yes, I am a nerd and little things like that make my day.  I have previously stated that I am not a reality TV kind of gal, BUT, when it comes to the Food Network – well that’s a whole different story.  I love: The worst cooks in America, The Next Food Network Star, Chopped…I could go on.  Here’s the thing; I love these shows because they really show how creative people can be with food, it’s not about the drama (usually).  It’s about making something taste spectacular.  THAT is what I love.

About the premiere…I was a nervous wreck.  Why? you ask?  Well, you didn’t, but I’ll tell you anyway.  I LOVE  all these chefs, out of 10 chefs I “follow” 8 of them. (2 of them I don’t really know)  So who will I cheer for?  Who will be my favorite?…oh the drama!

Ann Burrell: LUV HER. so funny and talented

Michael Chiarello: Great chef, original and from the wine country!

Alex Guarnaschelli: knows her food and has a way with words, makes you want to devour her food

Chuck Hughes: oh my oh my oh my….my little Canadian cutie 😉

Robert Irvine: first off…check out the bod!  Amazing Chef

Beau McMillan: something about that Boston/Mass. Accent….reminds me of Good Will Hunting (I am a mess)

Marcus Samuelsson: great chef, wonderful personality, friendliest smile….oh dear…

Geoffrey Zakarian: sexy nerd alert! wonderful chef and like an encyclopedia of food knowledge!

The two chefs I don’t really know: Elizabeth Falkner and Spike Mendelsohn….but I’ll be cheering for them as well.  (sorry about the spoiler but Spike is DONE!)

I was glued to my TV tonight for the premiere and I wanted something special to eat while I marveled at the amazing talent of these 10 chefs.  I made myself an Olive Oil Cake.

one of the MANY pieces I had today.... 😉

Ingredients:

For the cake:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 heaping tablespoon fresh rosemary chopped finely

1 lemon zest

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup milk

3 large eggs

1/2 lemon juice (keep other half for glaze….YUM)

Lemon glaze:

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 lemon juice

1 cup powdered sugar

Pinch salt

How to:

For the cake:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter and flour a Bundt cake pan.  Set aside.

In a large bowl mix your flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, fresh rosemary, and lemon zest.  Set aside.

I love the beautiful smell of fresh rosemary and lemon zest

In your mixer blend your sugar with your olive oil and milk.  Carefully add your eggs one at a time.  Add your lemon juice.   Finally add your flour mixture at once.  Combine everything well, finishing by hand.  The color of your batter will be a wonderful yellow color with beautiful little green specks from the rosemary.  Bake in your preheated oven for 45 minutes.  Let your cake cool at room temperature for about 1 hour prior to adding your glaze.

lovely golden color

fresh out of the oven, the smell is a pure delight

For the glaze:

In a large bowl mix your powdered sugar with your salt, lemon juice and olive oil.  Gently pour over your cooled cake.

so pretty

I absolute love fresh rosemary and lemon, and this cake truly delivers amazing taste.  The loveliness of the olive oil gives an amazing aroma to this cake.  Perfect!

Note: this is not an extremely sweet or super rich cake, definitely more of a “afternoon tea time” treat.

Printer Friendly: Olive Oil Cake

Peace and 9 to go,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Olive Oil Cake

  1. I love a good cake like this! I make one that uses basil and I miss my basil plant I had in the backyard (lemon basil) because it was perfect for my cake!
    I, too, watched that. I don’t know what it is about Anne…I am just not a fan. Maybe it is the hair..no really what it is is her. I can’t get around that. I have made a lot of her stuff I just can’t watch her. I know you love her, though. The last 5 minutes of the sudden death were tense!

  2. Isabelle, I absolutely love this post. I was nodding my head in agreement with your explanation about the “ideas” side of “food shows” — half the time, I’m cooking right alongside them (in my mind…lol!), thinking, “What would I do differently?” or “No, don’t do THAT!” LOL!

    I also enjoyed your “review” of each chef. 😉 Food Network really needs to hire you to do “promo spots” for each show — their ratings would soar even more!

    I was thinking…. after we’re done sitting on my deck watching the sunset, we’ll go inside and watch Food Network shows until our eyes cross. 🙂 I can’t imagine how much fun it would be to watch The Next Iron Chef with you… if they ever tape those shows live, we’re getting front row tickets. 🙂

  3. Oh, your cake!!! (Silly me…) This looks delicious and fragrant, but I was wondering, what kind of olive oil do you use? (EVOO? Regular? Light?) Please let me know. Thanks!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

