Roasted Butternut Squash Pasta

I have to make peace with the fact that fall (and soon winter) is here.  I do love all the lovely colors but honestly (and sorry to be so redundant) I HATE the cold weather.  I can’t stand it.  I just want to hibernate and come out sometime in March….maybe April.  So I have to always force myself to go outside and enjoy the day even though I am freezing my “tushy” off.  I will spare you all my complaints I have about cold weather but suffice to say I am from Canada.  I have paid my dues with the snow, the rain, the freezing rain, the black ice, the wind that takes your breath away….etc…so to make myself feel better I make food that not only celebrates the cold season but puts a little ray of sunshine in my mouth! (that’s weird…)

Note: this is a 2 part recipe.  Part one is Roasted Butternut Squash Pasta and Part two is a Sausage and Butternut Squash Ravioli.  🙂

The inspiration....yes I did cut the top before I realized I forgot to take a pic ;)

The inspiration….yes I did cut the top before I realized I forgot to take a pic 😉

Ingredients:

for the roasted squash:

1 whole Butternut Squash peeled and cubed (1-2 inches cubes)

3 fresh rosemary sprigs roughly chopped

1/4 to 1/2 cup olive oil (depending on size)

1 teaspoon sea salt (or kosher)

1 teaspoon fresh ground pepper

for the pasta:

3 cups roasted Butternut Squash (reserve the rest for another recipe)

4 oz pancetta (small dice) or bacon

1 cup dry white wine (or chicken/vegetable broth)

1/3 cup toasted pine nuts

1 lb cooked wholewheat pasta (you could use regular pasta but the nuttiness of the wholewheat is perfect for the roasted squash)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Note: please keep 1 cup of your pasta water in case your sauce thickens too much and you need to thin it a little.

How to:

To roast the Butternut Squash:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F

Peal and cube your butternut squash.  In a large bowl mix your cubed squash with olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper.  Toss everything to coat well.  Put your squash on a large baking sheet and put in your preheated oven for 40 minutes.  I like to stir things up at the half way point (20 minutes)Remove from oven and reserve 3 cups for your pasta (with some of the oil) and put remaining 2 or 3 cups in a container for later use.

try to cut the cubes about the same size so they cook evenly

try to cut the cubes about the same size so they cook evenly

lovely olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper....perfect

lovely olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper….perfect

    beautiful roasted aromas, simply amazing

beautiful roasted aromas, simply amazing

For the pasta:

In a large pan gently cook your Pancetta until crispy but not burnt.  Add your wine (or broth) and cook for 2-3 minutes.  Add your 3 cups roasted Butternut Squash (and oil) and toss to coat.  Add your cooked pasta at once and toss to coat.  Serve sprinkled with toasted pine nuts.

    the squash will start to break up a little which will give your sauce amazing creaminess

the squash will start to break up a little which will give your sauce amazing creaminess

    mouthwatering flavors all in one bowl

mouthwatering flavors all in one bowl

Printer Friendly: Roasted Butternut Squash Pasta

Next will be the Raviolis….simply scrumptious!

Peace and Sunshine,

Isabelle

11 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash Pasta

  1. I am so with you. I miss the warm warm weather of Florida. I grew up in Wyoming. Sub zero winters and lots of snow. I hate it. Truly. North Carolina comes and goes. Some winters good, some not. Love your post as always!

  2. Isabelle, I laughed so hard … “I have paid my dues.” You said it so convincingly, I pity the fool who doesn’t believe you. 🙂 (Being a former Minnesota girl, I can totally relate — that’s why we moved to Oklahoma!) Think of it this way… shivering is involuntary calorie burning… Even so, your squash recipe looks WARM and that last photo is downright SUNNY. Lovely, dear, lovely!

  3. Wow! This pasta dish looks amazing!! I am not a fan of peeling butternut squash, but the end result is sooooo tasty! Thanks for this great dish, Isabelle! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Butternut Squash Cake | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

