Syrian Squares Appetizer

Just so you know I am a good wife.

Just so you know my husband HATES olives with a severe passion.

Just so you know I usually take this hatred into account.

Usually.

Not today.

This is a delicious appetizer and I am tired of keeping this little delight in my cookbook cabinet for no one to see.

So….now you know 🙂

Ingredients:

1 jar sliced olives (about 5.75- ounces)  (of course, I bought the darn whole stuffed olives so I had to slice away…just so you know)

1 1/2 teaspoon curry powder

1/2 cup mayonnaise (light works,you could go as much as 3/4 cup if you like it very creamy or if you’ve worked out today!)

2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

pita bread cut into little triangles (and split in half…I have a pic)

How to:

Start your broiler.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.  Lay your Pita triangles on your baking sheet.  Set aside.

this is what I mean by "half": open/separate the pita pieces....you know?

all lined up and ready to go

In a large bowl mix all your ingredients except your pita bread (I know….somewhat obvious but you never know).  Spread a good tablespoon onto each pita triangle.  Broil until golden, about 3-4 minutes, until golden brown.

a good full tablespoon of topping

a lovely cocktail appetizer!

Note: you could use a smoked curry or a spicy curry powder….oh! the possibilities!

Just so you know I completely realize these are actually triangles and not squares….sadly after having this recipe for the past 15 years…I never made the connection!  I didn’t know.

This recipe is from a lady named Judy Gustafson.  She is a friend of my parents.  Thank you Mrs. Gustafson.

Printer Friendly: Syrian Squares

Peace and Triangles….just so I know,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Syrian Squares Appetizer

  1. Olives rank right up there with chocolate and these look fabulous! Lol about “triangles”… SO much more interesting than four corners. Yes, you are definitely a triangle person, Isabelle! 🙂

  2. Wow – this IS a delicious appetizer! Honey bunny doesn’t like mushrooms…but I will – occasionally – make them. You just can’t help yourself!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

