Life is Messy: Have Some Beer Bread

4:15am Couldn’t sleep.  I laid there until the alarm sounded off at 5:35.  It was OK to just lay there.  It was peaceful and quiet.  I didn’t have to get up, I simply laid there listening to my husband breathing and sleeping.  All is good in my little world…..then I got up!

It’s a rainy ugly cold day.  Matt has to work an extra 24 hour shift and won’t be home until Monday!  (well he’ll be home for a few hours tomorrow but still)  Went to wake Bear up, she has a fever and a migraine.  She’s not going to school.  I live with a teenager.  I opened up the chicken coop and fed the girls, in the rain, in my pjs and the smell was a bit much this morning….

So I thought, no gym today, I’ll workout here.  I am staying home.  I have laundry to do.  A lot of catching up on a few awards (blog awards) I was given.  I need to thank people for their kindness.  I can pay bills. (awesome!)  Look for new recipes.  Write.  Eat.  oh yeah….eat!  Weirdest craving: I want Beer Bread!  I love Beer Bread.  I want Cheesy Beer Bread!

If you don’t like the cheese idea then you must go check out  my friends at Carolina HeartStrings, they have an amazingly simple and delicious Beer Bread Recipe: CarolinaHeartStrings Beer Bread  I make it a lot.

But today, I decided to try something new.  I hope it’s good otherwise I will be a  sad puppy all day!  I want to make a Cheesy Beer Bread!  Here goes nothing!

Here's a little preview of my finish bread.... YUM

Here’s a little preview of my finish bread…. YUM

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

3 tablespoons sugar

1 12-ounce beer (you can use non-alcoholic….I don’t judge!)

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 cup shredded cheese

1 tablespoon fresh chives finely chopped

4 tablespoons butter melted

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray a loaf pan.  Set aside.

In the bowl of your mixture, blend your flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  Add your olive oil, beer, shredded cheese and chives.  Blend well.  The dough will be extremely sticky, that’s a good thing.  Pour your sticky dough in your prepared loaf pan.  Using a spatula spread the dough evenly.  (I was told that you should spray your spatula with cookie spray to make your life easier…evidently I must like my life complicated because I always forget to do that!)  Pour your melted butter oven the beautiful mess.  Bake in your preheated oven for 1 hour.

life is messy and evidently so is my cutting board!

life is messy and evidently so is my cutting board!

sticky dough

sticky dough

before the gold....liquid gold that is

before the gold….liquid gold that is

aaaah liquid gold...trust me it's worth it!

aaaah liquid gold…trust me it’s worth it!

amazing smell and perfect crust....that's the ticket!

amazing smell and perfect crust….that’s the ticket!

my favorite is always the end part...then the next and on and on....

my favorite is always the end part…then the next and on and on….

Serve with love and lots of butter!

Note to self: if home all day and you decide to make a yummy tasty cheesy beer bread….be ready to eat the whole thing!  DELICIOUS!

Printed friendly: Cheesy Beer Bread

Peace and All Is Still Good In My Little World,

Isabelle

Note: I wanted to tell you (again) how great I think the book :Ratio by Michael Ruhlman is, without it I wouldn’t always know how to correctly put quantities of ingredients so they work together.  Go check it out, you’ll be amazed.

20 thoughts on “Life is Messy: Have Some Beer Bread

  1. Looks delicious Isabelle! I am thinking about making this with a dark beer and some jalapenos maybe? Oh dang I’m out of beer … will have to go buy some! Hope your day gets better hon🙂

  2. Thanks for the home alone warning! Warm, cheesy, chivey beer bread could get me into trouble!🙂 Hope your world is warm and wonderful the rest of the weekend. Hugs, my friend!

  3. How prevalent is the beer in the bread? I don’t like beer. I want this bread though. I hope your gloomy day is going better!! Lots of love!! xoxo

    • Mel — I don’t like beer either, but LOVE beer bread! If you’re worried about it, choose a very light, mild beer to make yours. If you’re not sure what brands/types are light, consult any beer lover for advice. Obviously that wouldn’t be me! 🙂

  4. Love the choice of Blue Moon as your beer of choice…I’m using a recent seasonal release from Schafley in St, Louis for mine, and, because of the rain and the cold here this week, plenty of wild onions topped for “chives”

  5. Pingback: Sweet & Salty Peanut Butter Rolo Thumbprint Cookies « Isabelle at home

  6. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

