Riley and Cooper’s Special Treat

Look at Cooper's face, he's thinking: "seriously? come on, man!"

Look at Cooper’s face, he’s thinking: “seriously? come on, man!”

If you are not a dog lover or even a dog “liker” then this post is definitely not for you.  I have to admit I didn’t really think about making a dog treat until my mother-in-law reminded me.  It’s not that I don’t give treats to our dogs, it’s just that I didn’t think I should blog about it.  What made me change my mind?  I have no clue.  I just woke up this morning and thought it would be nice for Riley and Cooper to have a homemade treat.

Believe me when I tell you our pets are extremely well cared for.  It is MY belief that if you choose to have a pet or pets then you should at the very least treat them with respect and love.  There is nothing that gets my blood boiling more than when I see animals mistreated.  Why?  It is so ignorant of people to mistreat animals.  Just don’t have pets.  No one will think less of you if you admit that you are not an animal kind of person.  There are plenty of us out there who believe in having pets and taking care of them properly.

I didn’t grow up with dogs.  My dad is afraid of dogs.  We had cats.  My mom’s favorite was our cat Abeille (french for Bee) and when I say she was her favorite I really mean it!  My favorite cat growing up was Napoleon.  He was so cool!  We gave our cat Eric to my sister in law because he was having HUGE panic attacks with both dogs.  We didn’t think that was fair to him.

I also treat our chickens with the same respect.  Believe me when I tell you our chickens are somewhat spoiled.  But that’s OK because happy chickens= happy and delicious eggs (how is an egg happy????)

This is an extremely simple recipe, no fuss kind of thing.  It doesn’t make a huge amount of cookies which is fine at our house since my dogs could eat limitless amount of treats (especially the old guy…..he’s kind of a glutton!)

mom, did you say treats???? oh yes!

mom, did you say treats???? oh yes!

Ingredients:

1 cup wheat flour

1/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup peanut butter (I like to use organic)

1  teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup milk, and maybe a few more tablespoons, you will have to see how much you need depending on your peanut butter, it seems regular is bit more dry than the organic kind.

How to:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Set aside

In a large bowl mix your flour, oats, and baking powder.  Add your peanut butter and 1/2 cup milk.  Blend well but do not over mix. Add more milk if needed a little bit at a time until your get a nice soft dough, not a wet dough.  It will be somewhat crumbly but that’s OK.

the dough

the dough

I like to roll out my dough on a floured board.  I have cute little cookie shapes for the dogs, but you could easily cut them into squares or circle and call it a day!

look at all the fun shapes for our treats!

look at all the fun shapes for our treats!

Put the cookies on your prepared baking sheet and bake in your preheated oven for 15-20 minutes.

Smells delicious...I know that sounds weird but it sure did!

Smells delicious…I know that sounds weird but it sure did!

Enjoy….oops I mean let the dogs enjoy them!

this would make a wonderful hostess gift...if the host has a dog of course!

this would make a wonderful hostess gift…if the host has a dog of course!

Printer friendly: Riley and Cooper’s Special Treat

Peace and Get Your Pets from the RESCUE!

Isabelle

13 thoughts on “Riley and Cooper’s Special Treat

  1. Isabelle, your dogs are SO cute! Love that photo of them waiting for “Mom” to give them their treat — how could you possibly say no?!🙂 I bet their tails were wagging hyper-fast after they ate your homemade dog biscuits. What a fun post!

  2. Both Riley and Cooper are just beautiful. I am going to make mine some cookies as well. I got mine from Helen over at http://www.traveldogbooks.com. Only I renamed them, “Raja’s Special Cookies”. They are just wonderful and I eat a couple right along with Galahd, Sunshine & Shadow. And even the kitty kats like them.

    1 six oz jar of baby food, chicken or beef (takes 3 of those tiny jars)
    1/4 cup wheat germ
    1/4 cup mashed, pre-cooked yams
    1 cup nonfat dry milk

    Mix it all up and drop teaspoonfuls onto a greased pan and bake at 350 degrees F for about 13 minutes or until browning. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for a week.

    Rufus just loved these cookies and the new kids love them as well. And I eat them as well. NO JOKE. Hey, you might like them too.

  3. Riley and Cooper are both so beautiful and look how good they are while waiting for their cookies.

    I have a favorite recipe as well. I got it from my friend Helen and her little Raja over at http://www.traveldogbooks.com

    Only I call them, “Raja’s Special Cookies”. All my little furry ones love them and I eat a couple with them….. they are REALLY good. Even the kitty kats love them.

    1 six oz jar of baby food, chicken or beef (3 of the tiny jars now).
    1/4 cup wheat germ
    1/4 cup mashed, pre-cooked yams
    1 cup nonfat dry milk

    Mix it all up and drop teaspoonfuls onto a greased pan and bake at 350 degrees F for about 13 minutes or until browning. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for a week.

    Rufus just loved these cookies and the new kids love them as well. And I eat them as well. NO JOKE. Hey, you might like them too.

  4. Your dogs are cute. Can this recipe be altered for cat treats? and if so can you put the recipe up on your site. I would love to make some treats for my feline children.

  5. Hoo boy. You’re going to order me a mimosa after these two, but here I go.

    You lucky dogs. (Handsome, too. It is obvious they are well cared for.)
    >(how is an egg happy????) A: It gets the yolk.

    Nyuk, nyuk, nyuk.

    Have a great Sunday, Isabelle. Now where’s that mimosa?

  6. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

