Lemon Grass Chicken

This is an actual conversation I had with my mother the last time she visited us. (yes, I am boring you with another conversation re-cap! sorry)

Me: “so, mom you said you had lunch with Grandma?”

Mom: “yes, but you know she is so forgetful now, it is really difficult to have a conversation with her.”

Me: “oh, really?  That’s not good”

Mom: “no, it’s not.  But I want you to make me a promise that if ever and I mean EVER start telling you the same story over and over again you have to stop me and tell me.  Also I am to NEVER wear those ugly old people track suit.  Promise me Isabelle, you have to promise.”

Me: “Mom, no worries, I will always tell you the truth and I won’t let anyone dress you that way…and I’ll even throw in the never let you have blue or purple hair!”

Mom: “great, now I have to tell you about how your dad freaked out at the gas station while we were in Nevada with your aunt and uncle.”

Me: “Mom, you’ve already told me this story, twice.”

Mom: “well, EXCUSE ME for repeating myself, I didn’t realize you were keeping track of my stories!”

Me: !

I love my Mom….I really do….Here’s an easy chicken recipe for everyone to enjoy, one that doesn’t require much “thinking”…because if you are like me then your life is already full of “stuff” and plenty of thinking! 😉

Lemon Grass Chicken Salad, easy, healthy and delicious

Ingredients:

2 pounds chicken breast cut into “tenderloin” size pieces

3-4 stalks lemon grass

4 garlic cloves crushed

1/2 cup olive oil

4 tablespoons soy sauce

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 green onion chopped

1 teaspoon each salt and pepper

How to:

In a small blender (or any size really will work) put your lemon grass, garlic, olive oil, soy sauce, brown sugar, green onion, salt and pepper.  Pulse until you get a smooth emulsion.  Pour in a resealable plastic bag.  Add your chickens strips and “massage” to make sure chicken is well coated.  Put in your refrigerator for 3-4 hours (up to 24 hours is no problem….the longer the better)

Ready to be pulverized

chicken strips....exciting isn't it?

Cook on a preheated outdoor grill or a grill pan (which is what I decided to use today).  Until no longer pink, about 10 minutes.

Beautiful Grill Marks= yumminess

I decided to make a salad with our Lemon Grass Chicken but it is so easy to make different meals with this delightfully tasty chicken: Asian chicken wraps, over rice noodles, over rice, in lettuce cups…etc…all amazingly delicious and healthy.

For the salad, I added some sliced green onions and chopped peanuts

Printer Friendly: Lemon Grass Chicken

Peace and No Jump Suit 😉

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Lemon Grass Chicken

  1. Isabelle, I look forward to your conversation re-caps — keep it up! (This one was near and dear to my heart — I’ve had the same one with my mother — AND my daughter, lol!) Your salad (and grilled chicken) look amazing.

  2. Oh, this is FANTASTIC! I love the marinade! I can’t get lemongrass where I live (that I know of). Do you think a little bit of lemon zest will work?

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

