Take 5 Cookies

I have been toying around with this recipe in my mind for quite sometime.  I have a wonderful recipe for chocolate chip cookies that I found years ago.  But although the recipe is simply perfect, it doesn’t allow me to simply add a ton of different flavors to turn it into an “imitation” for the Take 5 Candy Bar.  (my favorite chocolate bar!)

I have searched the internet for inspiration and also to see what people have tried.  They all sound delicious just not what I have in mind for my cookies…I thought I should start with a peanut butter cookie, then I could add some caramel and pretzel flavors, finally cover everything with chocolate.  It is still a lot but at least I don’t have to mess with the peanut butter and chocolate chips.  I want to be able to take a bite of cookie and taste everything.

I found the peanut butter cookie recipe here: Simply Recipes, but I can tell you that it is the same recipe from the Jif website only cut in half.  (maybe they should mention it!….just saying)

Here goes!

Take 5 Cookies!

Take 5 Cookies!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar

1/2 cup butter (room temperature)

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 egg

1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup caramel “squares” cut into 4 (see pic below)

1 cup broken pretzel sticks

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (I gave in and decided to add them in the cookies as well)

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips melted (optional for drizzle on the cookies)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment paper or Silpat.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl, combine your flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt.  Set aside.

In your mixer, cream your butter and sugars until light and fluffy (2 minutes).  Add your peanut butter and egg, mix well.  Add your flour mixture at once, do not over mix.  Using a wooden spoon or spatula add your caramels, broken pretzel sticks and 1/2 cup chocolate chips.  I find it makes a better cookie when you add your fillers by hand.

    Everyone in the "tub" :)

Everyone in the “tub”🙂

Perfect cookie dough

Perfect cookie dough

Using a medium size scoop drop your cookies on your prepared baking sheet.  Using your (clean) fingers or the back of a spoon press each cookie dough ball a little bit.  Bake in your preheated oven for 12-14 minutes.  Let cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before you try to remove the cookies.  The caramel will be extremely soft and if you try to lift them the cookies will fall apart.  (I speak from experience)  Let the caramel cool a little but and then it will be easy to remove the cookies.

    Press down on the dough just a little bit to shape the cookies

Press down on the dough just a little bit to shape the cookies

fresh out of the oven, smells deliciously sweet!

fresh out of the oven, smells deliciously sweet!

Drizzle with melted chocolate if you want.  We did, well Bear did and she likes A LOT of chocolate!

YUM!

YUM!

Note: if you eat the cookies right away you will notice a soft caramel inside but if you wait till later to eat them then the caramel will have hardened (which is what I love) going back to its natural state.  You could always pop the cookies in the microwave for a few seconds if you like soft caramel.  I like the chewier bite, like the Take 5 Bar has.

Printer Friendly: Take 5 Cookies

Enjoy

Peace and Chewy,

Isabelle

Find my recipe linked here:

15 thoughts on “Take 5 Cookies

  1. I will be thinking of these cookies all day at work today…!!!🙂 (You put my favorite “craves” into one cookie.) Very creative, Isabelle! Genius, pure genius.

  2. Oh my gosh, I will have to keep this recipe. I don’t have the pretzel’s or chips, but this sounds like a bit of heaven. I prefer savory over sweet, but this one I must keep and make later when I have everything. Don’t laugh, but I have never heard of this candy bar…. shooh, don’t tell on me.

    YUMMMM!

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Rolo Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

