World’s Simplest “Fancy” Appetizer

While at the gym (yet again) and trying to get my mind of the fact that I still had 20 minutes left on the boring elliptical (I love to run but it is better for my feet to cross-train so I have to change it up) I decided to read Glamour Magazine.  I love fashion and I love good photography….which is why Glamour is never on my top 10 magazines to read!  But a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do to pass the time.

I came across an article labeled: “Five recipes every woman should know.” mmmm interesting…and it was by Ina Garten….OK now I am curious.  I mean, I like Ina, she has some really good recipes but this just sounds a bit sexist and Ina + Glamour….I just don’t know.  She is usually more “upscale”…

I read the recipes.  Then it hits me, I’ve made one of those recipes before but it was different.  In the magazine it was labeled: Soppressata & Cheese in Puff Pastry.   I remember the puff pastry but not the Soppressata.  Once I was home, I rummaged through my “so not organized” recipe binder and found what I was looking for: Ham and Cheese in Puff Pastry .  See, NO Soppressata!

The funny thing about the whole concept of “recipes women should know”; is that I gave this recipe to my sister in law Kerri, after I made it a few times telling her: “this is perfect for you, it is easy and quick and you will look like a super star in the kitchen!”  She agreed, tried it and told me it was a success.

pretty presentation if you ask me

Ingredients:

1 package (2 sheets) frozen puff pastry, defrosted (recommended: Pepperidge Farm)

2 tablespoons Dijon mustard (or a favorite grainy mustard)

1/4 pound black forest ham, sliced (I have also used sliced turkey, smoked ham, salami…etc..)

1/2 pound Swiss cheese, sliced (or gruyere, extra sharp white cheddar…etc..)

1 egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash

How to:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.  Place a piece of parchment paper  or Silpat on a large baking sheet.  Set aside.

Lay 1 sheet of puff pastry on a floured board and carefully roll it out to 10 by 12 inches.  Place it on your prepared baking sheet and brush the center with the mustard, leaving a 1-inch border around the edge.  Place a layer first of ham and then cheese, also leaving a 1-inch border. Brush the border with the egg wash.

Place the second sheet of puff pastry on the floured board and roll it out to 10 by 12inches.  Place the second sheet on top of the filled pastry, lining up the edges.  Cut the edges straight with a small, sharp knife and press together lightly.  Brush the top with egg wash and cut a few slits in the top to allow steam to escape.

#1 the mustard

#2 ham

finally the cheese and the egg wash border

oven ready!

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until puffed and golden brown.  Allow to cool for a few minutes and serve hot or warm.

I love the "dramatic" look of the whole appetizer!

Please note: I only did half the recipe.  It was easier on my waist line….I was home alone and there is really no earthly reason why one person should eat and entire package of puff pastry….nor should she eat half of it either but for the sake of my blog I did!  OH!  How I suffer for you guys 😉

I could have lied and said this was my only serving....but why?

Printer friendly: Ham and Cheese Puff Pastry

Peace and Puffed,

Isabelle

9 thoughts on “World’s Simplest “Fancy” Appetizer

  1. Now *I* have to get on the elliptical, and I haven’t even eaten any yet! This looks scrumptious. Pastrami would be good, too. Or whatever your favorite meat / cheese variety, no?

    Good work, you femme fatale!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

