Swedish Meatballs…sort of…

Growing up in Quebec I have always known about IKEA:  THE “mac daddy” super home store.  If you have ever been, then you know.  It is not an easy task to explain how cool the store is.  Honestly, I completely agree with anyone who says: “you just have to go to understand”.  I never thought I would say: “I miss IKEA”.  When I left Montreal and moved to Ottawa, there it was; another IKEA store, easy…then came Florida…no IKEA (then) in Central Florida.  That is until I moved to Indiana, of course that’s when they decided to build an IKEA in Orlando….geez thanks for waiting for me to leave!  Indiana: NO IKEA!  We do however have one in Cincinnati…little problem: I am not one to travel 2 hours just to go to a super store!  Well…not for their Swedish Meatballs anyway…for their home stuff yes, but the food is not the driving force here.

Fine I’ll make due.  I can come up with some sort of Swedish meatballs like the best of them.  No worries!

Truth is; I have made this numerous times….I just wanted to share the recipe with you.🙂

Not Ikea's Swedish Meatballs....but Isa....😉

Ingredients:

For the meatballs:

1 pound ground turkey

1 piece white country bread

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1 egg

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

1 teaspoon dried thyme

salt and pepper

For the sauce:

1 onion finely diced

1 8-ounce container mushrooms sliced (optional)

2 tablespoons butter

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

1 1/2 cup beef broth (low sodium if possible)

salt and pepper

For serving:

Fresh parsley

Buttered noodles

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.  Set aside.

In a small bowl tear your bread into 3-4 pieces, pour your milk over the bread and press to insure your bread is soaking.  While your bread is working, in a large bowl put your turkey, Worcestershire sauce, egg, parsley, thyme, salt and pepper.  Gently squeeze the milk from your bread, tearing it some more add it to your bowl.  Using the best tools known to man: your hands!  Mix everything together, but do not over do it.  Just until everything is combined.  Using a medium size scoop place your meatballs on your prepared pan.  Put in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.

the exciting life of bread soaking in milk!

You know how I looooove my scoops!

all lined up and ready to bake

When you only have 10 minutes left to your meatballs, start your sauce.  In a large saucepan, melt your butter, add your onions and sliced mushrooms.  Cook on medium low for 3-4 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your flour and cook for 2-3 minutes.  Slowly add your beef broth and bring to a gentle boil.  Add your Worcestershire sauce, thyme, salt and pepper.  Let this simmer for 4-5 minutes and then add your meatballs.  Cover and let cook for 5-10 minutes until ready to serve.

lovely meatballs in a delightful sauce= happiness

Serve with buttered noodles and top with parsley.

Note: your meatballs can be made ahead of time and simply warmed a bit longer in your sauce.  Also you could use any type of ground beef you prefer, I just like to use ground turkey whenever possible.

I like to bake my meatballs (please see previous post regarding this subject: lovely meatballs ) It is by choice and if you have a better or personal technique you like to use, by all means go for it!  In my opinion, what makes this dish flavorful is using the same spices and aromas both in the meatballs as well as in the sauce.

Printer Friendly: Swedish Meatballs….sort of

Peace and Sort Of…

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Swedish Meatballs…sort of…

  1. Ok, you must be a mind reader! I was just looking through my recipes yesterday for a good swedish meatballs or stroganoff (spelling?) recipe, and couldn’t find one that sounded good. Can’t wait to try yours! Thanks for the help.

  2. Seriously YUMMY! I’ve only been to Ikea once…the closest one is 3 hours away. It was awesome! Thanks for sharing this recipe…I’m bookmarking!

  3. Isabelle, I enjoy reading your photo captions as much as your post! Confession: I’ve never been to Ikea. (!!!) Yes, my life is like bread soaking in milk.🙂 But I’ll be able to cope by eating these delicious meatballs!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

