Barb’s Pineapple Cake

This is my actual “conversation” with Jennifer.  Please don’t be too hard on me…

Text from me: “hey Jen, do you have a second? I have a question about a recipe you gave me”

2 minutes later phone rings, Jen: “hey, got your text, driving, so I called” (good safe decision, smart girl!)

Me: “you know that recipe from Barb you gave me? well, what’s a #2 can of pineapple?”

Jen: “yeah, I didn’t know either, turns out all cans are numbered, it’s the 20-ounce one.  The one that’s a bit bigger than a soup can”

Me: “no kidding, who knew?”

Jen: “are you making this tonight?”

Me: “no, Sunday night, Matt wants to be in charge of making dinner and he wants to use the smoker.  I hate the smoker, but you know I’ll eat the food anyway because I’m nice like that.  But if I have to eat a crappy dinner at the very least I want a good dessert so I thought I’d make Barb’s cake”

Jen: “LOL (she was laughing out loud!) yeah you and I are nice like that!”

Yes, we are both very “nice like that”, twisted and evidently quite delusional about what NICE is!

DO NOT send me emails or recipes about the smoker.  I know it’s amazing, here’s the thing: it’s the smell, when I have to smell food cooking all day, I can’t bring myself to eat it later on.  Same thing with the crockpot.  If I am at work and come home to the delicious smell of the crockpot, no problem but if I have been here all day smelling the food.  I have a hard time eating it.  I know I am WEIRD, noted!

I want cake.

Barb's Pineapple Cake

Ingredients:

Cake:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 eggs

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup water

1  20-ounce can crushed pineapple with juices (that’s a #2 can!)

Topping:

1 stick butter

1 8-ounce cream cheese

1 cup powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease and flour an 9X11 baking pan.  Set aside.

Mix flour and baking soda.  Add your vanilla, eggs, sugar and water, mix well.  Finally add your crushed pineapple and juices.   Pour into your prepared pan.  Bake in your preheated oven for 25-30 minutes. (mine took 35 minutes!)

going in to the hot hot oven 🙂

While your cake is baking prepare the icing.  Combine all ingredients, mix well until you have a creamy consistency.  Spoon over cake right out of the oven. (TRUST me: right out of the oven.  It works.)

Fresh Out Of The Oven

Icing on the Hot Cake...smells perfect!

UPDATE on Matt’s Supper: He came home from the fire station and said: “Change of plans,  I decided to make corned beef and cabbage in the crockpot for my meal!”  Oh Great! (yes that is my sarcastic tone) so what’s a girl to do?  I mowed 5 acres of grass and didn’t come in until I absolutely had to!  And you know what?  It smelled awesome and it was perfectly delicious.  I am a lucky girl with a wonderful husband who cooked dinner for his family: life is good!

Moist, delicious, flavorful...need I go on?

Printer Friendly:Barb’s Pineapple Cake

Peace and I AM NICE,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Barb’s Pineapple Cake

  1. Great conversation- friends are the best! I know exactly what you mean about smells- a friend visiting from England knew I loved Cassoulet. It took him 2 days to prepare it, my bedroom is above the kitchen, so you can only imagine smells of goose for 2 days. It was not pretty, not sure if I can stomach Cassoulet again! Love your blog. I am making your Barb’s Pineapple Cake!

    Moore or Less Cooking.

    Nettie

  2. Hi! l want to download your pineapple cake. Could you please tell me how, instructions on how to do so.
    Thanking you in advance
    Lou-Ellen

  3. I got this recipe from my mother years ago. What I do to make it even better is drain the juice from the crushed pineapple and replace it with rum.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

