Walnut-Black Pepper Biscotti…I’m not reading the book!

I have a really really really (yes it’s that bad) bad habit of refusing to read a book if I find out there will be a movie coming out soon based on or about the book.  I have no clue how or when I started doing this but it’s somewhat weird….even for me.  I even have tried to justify it by stating: “well, if I read the book, I will simply be disappointed in the movie…who wants to be disappointed?”  Yes, no logic whatsoever!

So Janine gave me this book: The Help…yeah yeah I know it’s amazing…I can’t be bothered to read…I heard the movie is amazing…works for me!

My Bear gave me her Hunger Game book.  For about 2 weeks she asked me everyday: “so Mom, did you start the book?”  Everyday I would say: “no, not yet, soon”.  She gave up.  I think she saw me looking at the previews of the movie on the internet and figured there is no way I am reading that book.

Not too long ago I found this book at our local library: Cakewalk by Kate Moses believe it or not, I started to read the book….then I thought, man that would make a great movie.  I stopped reading it, noted the recipe pages and called it a day.

I need a life!

Walnut-Black Pepper Biscotti

Ingredients:

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 rounded teaspoons finely ground black pepper (I did freshly ground)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small pieces

1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons granulated sugar

1/2 cup plus 3 tablespoons light brown sugar

2 eggs, chilled

2 tablespoons milk

2 teaspoons vanilla

2 cups walnut pieces

How to:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with Silpat or parchment paper.  Set aside.

Blend the flour, baking powder, salt and pepper together in a food processor.  Add the butter in chips and mix until grainy, by pulsing in a food processor.  Mix in your sugars.

In a large bowl whisk your eggs, milk and vanilla.  Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture and stir until a thick, soft dough forms.  Mix in the walnuts.  The dough will be very sticky (she wasn’t kidding!)….but it was delicious (I know, I eat raw dough….bad bad girl)

Scrape the dough onto the baking sheet and spread it into a 6X16-inch rectangle about 3/4-inch high.  Bake in your preheated oven for 10 minutes, reverse the pan and bake for another 10 minutes.  Cool the loaf for 20 minutes outside of the oven.

quite the sticky situation!

for the first time in my life I actually got a tape measure to check the dimensions

first run through the oven; success!

Lift the cooled dough from the baking sheet and remove to a work surface (cutting board in my case).  Score the loaf into 3/4-inch wide slices, then cut through.  Use a long thin metal spatula to move the slices back to the baking sheet.  Bake for 7 minutes.  Reverse the baking sheet and bake for another 5-7 minutes or until the second side is golden.  Watch carefully to prevent burning.  let cool for 10 minutes on the cookie sheets and the move the cookies with a long, thin metal spatula to a wire rack to cool completely.

and then I was slicing....

letting these beauties cool is easier said than done!

I fell in love with this biscotti.  I have this new found obsession with pepper.  I know salts are all the rage but for some reason this combination of flavors is absolutely heavenly.  You just want to come back for more and more.

Printer Friendly:Walnut-Black Pepper Biscotti

Peace and Go Read A Book For Crying Out Loud!!!

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Walnut-Black Pepper Biscotti…I’m not reading the book!

  1. Isabelle! !! !!
    The Help and Hunger Games are on my list of my FAVE all time books! Read them for crying out loud 😉 I kid…

    No, really. Matt and I read the HG series twice. I would read it again if that wasn’t weird…and i know it is. Noah devoured them. And The Help….Watch it first but read the book after it is SO much better. You will like it.

    Oh, and the biscotti was good too 😉

  2. The biscotti looks delicious and SO clever to use black pepper! I’m with you – I don’t often read the book if the movie is coming out (although I did read Harry Potter….and both were great!)

  3. Just steer clear of best sellers, and you’ll find much better reading material. I’m a big fan of picking up books off the side of the road. I got my Harvard Dictionary of Music, Moby Dick, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and more great books as well as a whole bunch of duds (Romola? Terrible. Terrible friggin’ NAME!).

    I love biscotti, and that looks like a tasty one.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

