Creamy Lemony Chicken Rice Soup

I guess I didn’t have to include all the ingredients in the title of this soup and post.  Pardon me, it has been a difficult few days.  I am still dealing with this darn Crohn’s Disease situation.  Interesting….a situation….that’s one way of putting it!  Anyway, I wanted to make soup for the family tonight because I think I gave them all a pretty good scare this morning.  It don’t like to be sick.  I don’t like doctors.  I don’t like to be stopped dead in my tracks.  I don’t like this.

What I like: making breakfast for my kids, running, walking, taking care of our chickens, going to the grocery store, going to the gym, cooking, moving, laughing…. being here in the moment. 🙂

We like this little local restaurant not too far from us.  They do breakfast pretty well but more than anything we (the girls and I) get really anxious to find out what the soup of the day will be.  If it happens to be their creamy chicken and rice soup…oh you know it’s a good day indeed!  Here’s my home version of it….also because I am obsess with Thai Food I decided to use lemongrass instead of lemon!

creamy lemony chicken and rice soup...all in one!

Ingredients:

1 onion chopped

2 lemongrass bruised (no worries I’ll explain)

3 garlic cloves finely chopped

8 cups chicken broth (low sodium best)

1 cup flat leaf Italian parsley roughly chopped

3 tablespoons fresh basil roughly chopped (if you can get your hands on Thai Basil, even better!)

1 can 13-ounce coconut milk (don’t forget to shake well)

3 cups leftover chicken chopped

3 cups leftover rice (I had white but use what you like or have)

Salt and Pepper

2 tablespoon butter at room temperature

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

How to:

In a large pot heat 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Add your onion and bruised lemon grass.  Let this cook on medium heat for 3-4 minutes until soft and fragrant.  Add your garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes on medium-low heat (garlic can burn easily and taste nasty)  Add your chicken broth, parsley and basil.  Bring this to a boil and reduce to a simmer.  Let this  cook for 15 minutes.

this is where the magic begins...or the soup 😉

Note: this can be made ahead of time and reheated when ready to use.

Make a beurre manie: mix your 2 tablespoons of room temperature butter and your flour until you have a smooth consistency.  Set aside (see previous post for beurre manie explanation: braised pork )

beurre manie is another way to thicken soups or sauces

Carefully remove the larger pieces of lemongrass.  Add your coconut milk.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and cook for 5 minutes.  Using an immersion blender or a blender, puree your soup until you have no more visible lumps and you have a smooth consistency.  Add your beurre manie and bring to a boil.  You may want to use a whisk in order to blend everything well.  Cook for 5 minutes until nice and thick.  Add you chicken and rice.  Serve.

To serve: I like to thinly slice a thai or serrano pepper with cilantro or thai basil.  Our daughters like it plain….with extra rice!

Bruising Lemongrass:  I like to take the side of my knife with the lemon grass under it and hit the knife to crush the grass.  I am not a fan of pieces of lemon grass in my food….very stringy.  Here’s what I am talking about:

You don't have to hit it very hard to bruise the lemongrass

Here’s what lemongrass usually looks like at the grocery store:

usually found in the fresh herbs area

Printer friendly: Creamy Lemony Chicken and Rice Soup

Peace and Hit it,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Creamy Lemony Chicken Rice Soup

  1. So glad I ran into your blog!! I JUST bought lemongrass for the VERY first time because we made steamed fish last night (post coming later)..and now I dont know what the heck to do with the rest of it! This is such an interesting twist on chicken soup…I’m used to the “jewish penicillin” version! lol

  2. I love lemon in chicken soup. Isabelle – I’m SO sorry you were unwell. I know that Crohn’s disease is nothing to sneeze at – please take care of yourself….

  3. Oh Isabelle… I hope you’re feeling better by the time you get this (sorry, I’ve been lurking instead of commenting until now.) It’s probably corny to say “this’ll cure what ails ya” but I mean it. I hope every bite of this beautiful soup brought you comfort and happiness!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

