Miss Cynny’s Smoked Salmon Dip

Beautiful October Day

Beautiful October Day

Cynny is my father-in-law’s lady friend.  The girls call her Miss Cynny.  Doesn’t that sound like a southern movie title?  Well, it does in my mind….

My father-in-law brought us back a lot of smoked salmon, fresh salmon and fish of all kinds from his trip to Alaska.  Good thing we have 2 freezers and 2 fridges!  On the first night he was here, he was ranting and raving about Cynny’s smoked salmon dip.  He told us how everyone in Alaska smokes their own salmon.  They all have their own recipe for smoking the salmon and making the dip.  He called Cynny and had her tell me her recipe over the phone so I could make it for us….right then and there.  Sure, I felt like making smoked salmon dip all along!🙂

AAAAAAAH family!  Gotta love it!  Turns out the dip is really really good!  Perfect for a party, football game, card night….etc… or just in time for cocktails!

Lovely smoked salmon

Lovely smoked salmon

Ingredients:

8-ounce cream cheese (low fat is OK) at room temperature

3/4 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 garlic cloves  minced

2 tablespoons fresh dill

2 tablespoons green onion finely chopped

2 tablespoons horseradish

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon pepper

7-ounce smoked salmon

How to:

Mix all ingredients but not your smoked salmon.  Once you have the right consistency (smooth but not overworked) fold in your salmon.  Don’t over do it otherwise you are heading towards smoked salmon mousse….good dish just not what we are looking for in a dip!

Serve with buttery crackers (Ritz Crackers).  These crackers are definitely the best tasting for this dip.  I think it is the combination of the buttery cracker with the creaminess of the dip.  It is a definite must!

Perfect Afternoon Snack :)

Perfect Afternoon Snack🙂

Note: It is easier to work with your cream cheese if you bring it to room temperature first.  Although I tend to forget stuff like that, in reality, once you start working the mixture it will eventually blend pretty well.

Printer Friendly:Miss Cynny’s Smoked Salmon Dip

Peace and Family,

Isabelle

Find my recipe also here:

13 thoughts on “Miss Cynny’s Smoked Salmon Dip

  1. Too funny, Isabelle! My family does the “you just HAVE to make this” thing, too! Loving to cook rubs off — so does food made with love. Your dip was a combination of both!🙂

  2. Oh I loved smoked salmon… especially Sockeye. I wish I had some right now. I can not afford to buy it… really jealous now.

    Years ago, when I tended bar there was a guy that worked out at Jacksonville Beach and would bring smoked Mullet home from work with him one of his friends smoked….. yummmm, yummmm, yummm. Smoked fish it the very best snack food in the world to me. I actually consider it a comfort food.

    Love this recipe, will save it for when I can make it.

  3. Are you ready to gasp?? I don’t like Salmon. However, I love how it looks and this recipe LOOKS delicious!! In fact, if I could tell myself it is cheese I might be able to eat a few! hahaha I bet I could use shredded chicken instead. Nom, nom, nom! Yep, I just said those nom’s out loud. I’m pretty special.🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  4. LOVE smoked salmon; It turns me into a rabid cat. I even like the store-bought kind when I can’t get some which is fresh-smoked by a handsome fisherman.

    I will have to try this soon. Maybe even for OU/Texas this weekend!

    Thanks, Isabelle.

  5. YUM! We buy a lot of smoke salmon ~~ from a fish store down the road that smokes their own salmon… I will have to give this recipe a try. Thanks.

  6. Love this Isabelle! This will show up as part of my (very limited) festivites for sure!! Looks fabulous! Thank you, and thanks to Miss Cynny as well! Merry Christmas to all!

  7. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

  8. Hi Isabelle, I am writing to you from Montreal (good friends with Anna Krista!). It just so happens that I am putting together my Christmas menu and I would love to make this as a appetizer. Can it be made a day or so in advance. Is the freshness and flavor still good?

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

