Apple Spice Cake

How does one become a classic?  Or how does something become a classic?  When it is utilized enough?  Requested enough?  Thought of?  etc… This recipe is a classic in my mind…or it should.

Lovely apples

I don’t have much of a witty story here only that I have made this recipe a lot.  The first time I saw it on The Martha Stewart Show back in 2006, I knew right away that it was a great recipe.  I made it that same night.   The reviews were outstanding.  Everyone loved the cake.  It was so simple to make….which if you have made M.S.’s recipes you know it’s not always the case.  Don’t get me wrong, I think Martha is a pretty darn cool cat, but she sure knows how to throw in a few extras in everything she does!

Come to think of it, it’s not even her recipe.  It was a guest’s recipe on her show…..mmmmm interesting….vewy vewy interesting!

Dorothy Mae Brown is the lady who showed Martha the cake recipe.  In fact, I am somewhat surprise that since it didn’t involve super natural cooking equipment Martha was even interested in this cake….OK, OK I’ll stop my little sarcastic tone.  (I guess I am still a little bitter over the Espresso Tart)

Ingredients:

1 1/3 cups vegetable oil

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 cups sugar

3 large eggs

3 to 4 Granny Smith apples, cored and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (3 cups)

1 cup chopped assorted nuts, such as pecans and walnuts (optional)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Caramel Sauce (your own, Dorothy Mae’s or My Uncle’s….see below)

How to:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spray a 12-cup Bundt pan with cooking spray or butter and flour, set aside

In a large bowl sift together flour, cinnamon, baking soda, and salt, set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine vegetable oil, sugar, and eggs; mix on high speed until lemon yellow.

With mixer on medium speed, gradually shake in dry ingredients until just incorporated.  At this point, I should mention that the batter will seem somewhat thick and dry but fear not….

Pre-Apples

Add apples and, if desired, nuts, to batter; mix to combine.  Add vanilla, mixing until incorporated.  See the juice from the apples helps the batter greatly. 🙂

Apples joining the party

Looks so good and it's not even baked yet!

Pour batter into prepared pan, and bake until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 75 to 90 minutes.

Ready to rock and roll in the oven (???)

Be ready for your home to smell AMAZING!

Remove from oven, and cool slightly on a wire rack.  Invert cake onto rack; turn cake right-side up to cool completely on rack, and serve drizzled with caramel sauce.  I also like to sprinkle a little bit of powdered sugar, to make everything look pretty…like I am in my own little movie!

My Caramel Sauce:  Uncle Andre’s Famous Caramel Sauce

Dorothy Mae’s Caramel Sauce:

1 cup light-brown sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

1/4 cup evaporated milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

How to:
Combine ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat.  Cook, stirring, until thickened to desired consistency.
I have to admit, although I love my Uncle’s caramel sauce, I make Dorothy’s because it is extremely simple and I always make a double batch because people like a good amount of caramel sauce over their cake….and then there is always the couple spoonfuls I sneak while serving it.

Best when caramel sauce is warm....scrumptious!

Printer Friendly: Apple Spice Cake
Peace and Keep it Simple,
Isabelle
Note: I see that my pics for the one piece is really weird….I was playing with my “fix it” photoshop…evidently I need to work on my technique some more!

10 thoughts on “Apple Spice Cake

  1. That does sound like an easy recipe. I love the fact that you don’t have to peel the apples. I hate peeling apples, so I rarely make apple dishes, so I think I’m going to have to try this one.

  2. I Love this cake! Eating my take home piece from last night as we speak with my morning coffee. I put it in the fridge with the carmel sauce on top and it is just as yummy cold as it is warm! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Isabelle, you ARE in your own little movie and I’m so glad you share sneak previews of it on your blog — I’d stand in line to see the full length feature anyday! (I also hope the concession stand serves this cake.)🙂

  4. Looks really yummy. I love that you have a printer friendly recipe. I need to do that. I laughed at your last statement. I am right there with you. I am still figuring this whole photo editing thing.

  5. Isabelle, I’m familiar with this recipe, and I agree with you totally – it is a classic! I haven’t made it for quite a while (???) but that’s about to change! Thanks for the nudge🙂 AND my recipe does not include caramel sauce… that’s about to change too🙂 xoxo

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

