My favorite chicken recipe

I don’t want to bore you too much about how much I love this chicken recipe, it borderlines almost as an obsession.  I even talked about it on Facebook a few times.  Any chance I get to “show” off this tasty little miracle, I do!  I don’t know why I love it so much, might be the lemon, the saffron, the way the couscous absorbs all the goodness…oh it is so good.

oh so yummy

It is healthy and pretty quick to make. You don’t have to use Israeli couscous, you could use any small pasta or rice….but the Israeli couscous is REALLY good in this.  You just need to make sure the pasta is cooked, it might take a bit longer.

I had to make some changes from the original recipe.

And here’s why: I made it bigger…yep BIGGER, as in more food, more leftovers….(also I am using can tomatoes because I don’t always have fresh tomatoes)

Here’s the original recipe: Wholeliving.com  Chicken and Israeli Couscous with Tomato and Lemon

Ingredients:

1-2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 1/2 cup Israeli couscous

3 pounds skinless chicken thighs and drummettes

1/2 medium onion, thinly sliced

1 can petite diced tomatoes (not drained)

4 garlic cloves, minced (1 tablespoon)

4 strips lemon peel (2 inches each)

Pinch of saffron

3/4 cup dry white wine,

2 cups homemade or store-bought low-sodium chicken broth

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

1 1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed

1 lemon, cut into wedges, for serving

How to:
Heat oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add couscous, and cook, stirring, for 1 minute. Transfer to a bowl, and return skillet to heat.
Add a little bit more oil if necessary.  Cook chicken, smooth side down, until browned, 3 to 5 minutes. Flip, and cook for 2 minutes more. Transfer to a plate, reserving drippings in skillet.
Reduce heat to medium, add onion, and cook, stirring frequently, for 3 minutes. Stir in tomatoes, garlic, lemon peel, and saffron, and cook, stirring frequently, 2 to 3 minutes.
Return chicken to skillet. Add wine, and cook for 4 minutes. Add broth, salt, and couscous, and stir. Reduce heat to medium-low, cover, and cook, stirring occasionally, until couscous is tender and chicken is cooked through, 12 to 14 minutes. Stir in peas, and cook until heated through, about 1 minute. Serve immediately with lemon.

I make this recipe a lot.  When I am stressed, happy, worried, overjoyed…you get the idea.  So tonight, I made it to celebrate Tuesday or was it Wednesday (?).  Although, I didn’t have the peas and I only had a red onion, it didn’t matter because it’s always good.  I bet it’s the saffron, or maybe the lemon…then again I do love wine.

Printer Friendly: Chicken and Israeli Couscous with Tomato and Lemon

Sadly I don’t have more pics, which is odd since I make this recipe a lot….I just never take time to take pictures, I am usually so hungry I just want to eat!

Peace and Leftovers,

Isabelle

Find my recipe here as well:

   

11 thoughts on “My favorite chicken recipe

  1. Hey Isabelle,

    I have always wanted to try cooking couscous and this looks like the perfect motivation.

    Btw, we now get your blog link in our email and this morn I linked to it and couldn’t get the comment function to work. Not sure if it was due to how I accessed your site or if it’s just a prob at my end. ???

  2. Sounds great and so easy. I have none of the ingredients right now, so will have to wait to try it. If I can ever afford saffron again… might be I will have to wait years to get the saffron. This is where having someone to share with comes in handy. The larger packs of chicken are always cheaper per pound, but I don’t usually like chicken, so don’t buy large packs now that I can not afford it. I used to buy for my fur kids….. they love chicken, but then I never added anything to their simmered chicken.

  3. Bonjour Isabelle,

    Sans aucunement vouloir te relancer, simplement par plaisir de partager, j’aimerais te faire parvenir ma “recette au poulet préférée”. J’essaie de dénicher ton adresse email et je te l’envoie. Entre temps, j’essaie la tienne! Merci! Sophie

  4. Pingback: My favorite chicken recipe « Isabelle at home | ClubEvoo

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

