Darn Kids and Babovka (Ally’s Bohemian Cake)

Today Bear looked at me and said: “did you just say, cweamy?”  I said: “no, why?” She: “mom, come on, you said cweamy instead of creamy.”  Rolls her eyes and walks away.

I swear there are days when I wish I was raising goats.

So while my sweet dear loving 12 year old daughter is mocking my English, I found this simply perfectly amazingly awesome recipe from my friend Alice Phillips AKA Master Chef Finalist Season 2 Top 100 contestant!  AKA What\’s for dinner? Ally\’s kitchen .

She is one of the sweetest and nicest ladies.  And she can cook….I mean she really really can cook!

Here’s her recipe for Babovka (Bohemian Cake)

Tasty, flavorful and so moist

Ingredients:

Serves: 8-10

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 cup butter softened (I used unsalted)

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup milk

1/3 cup ricotta

3/4 teaspoon vanilla

4 eggs, beaten

Zest of a lemon

1 cup ground/chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

1 cup shredded sweetened coconut

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Using cooking spray coat a springform pan and set aside.  You could also use butter and flour (that’s what I did)

In a medium bowl mix your flour, salt and baking powder.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream your butter and sugar.  Add your dry ingredients a third at a time, blending well between each addition.  Add your milk and blend.  Then your ricotta and again blend well.  Add your lemon and eggs and blend. (see a pattern here!)

Finally fold in your nuts and coconut into the batter.  Pour your batter into your prepared pan.  Cover loosely with a piece of foil and bake in your preheated oven for 45 minutes.  Remove foil and continue baking for another 15 minutes, to a golden brown top or until a toothpick comes clean from the center. (mine took 10 minutes longer. Could be my oven)

batter up.... 🙂

super action shot of foil

fresh out of the oven....smells amazing

Let rest for 20+ minutes.  Do not frost.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar (optional).

Delicious Cake

Ally’s notes:

This cake is not as moist and dense as pound cake, but it reminds me of pound cake.  You can add your own toppings to it, which are endless. I used fresh raspberries cooked in some amaretta and butter.  Next time, I’d top the berries with chiffonade fresh basil!

It would be sooooooooooooo unique and cool to bake this cake in a cast iron skillet and serve straight from the skillet to the dessert dishes.  Have an array of toppings that each person can personalize making it their own!

My topping: In a saucepan I cooked 2 cups of blackberries with 2 tablespoons water, 2 tablespoons sugar and juice of a lemon.  I let this cook until some berries were breaking down.  Let cool completely and serve along side your cake.  You may want to add more sugar depending on your berries.

blackberry sauce and my flowers from Bear...I guess she felt bad 😉

Printer Friendly: Babovka (Ally’s Bohemian Cake)

Peace and Cweamy Cweamy Cweamy,

Isabelle

10 thoughts on “Darn Kids and Babovka (Ally’s Bohemian Cake)

  1. OMG, Isabelle! YOU have nailed it and exceeded what I was able to create!!! Your photos are spectacular and spot on!! I love the blackberry topping…tell Bear I love cwwweamy, too! Just one caveat, I was a ‘Top 100 Contestant’ on MasterChef, but what the heck, it’s the cake that is the staaaahhhhhhhhhhhh! You are amazing…7 mile run…you deserve to eat ALL of this! xoxo Ally 🙂

  2. LOL at your sign-off… you instigator, you! Say, is there a story behind this cake? (Other than Babovka probably means “Bohemian Cake” in Czech, lol.) I’m a Bohunk but I’ve never had this or heard of it! I want to embrace my heritage — or a piece of that cake — VERY SOON!

    • Hi, Kimby….it’s Ally! 🙂 I’m Croatian but w/a good dose of Bohemian (definite Hippie from the 70s and pixs to prove!) and gypsy in me…it’s wonderful that you are embracing your heritage…I have done so even more since my Croatian Mom passed…like the rustic peasant cheesecake she used to make (on special occasions) when I was growing up…I use her recipe (well, basically!) and call it ‘Zivila Kata Cheesecake’ (which means ‘long live Kata…mom’s name…in Croatian)…I think all of Eastern Europeans are interrconnected…Chzechs, Croats, Slavs, etc.! Mom used to make a similar type of Babovka…I’m kicking myself now for not paying MORE attention in the kitchen…but after some research on the Internet, I think this is pretty darn close! She also did an amazing kohlachi (sp?), which I”m working on!! xoxox 🙂 Ally

  3. Isabelle! We know that’s one tasty cakkeee! And, I luv ‘cwwweamy’…but, I agree, sometimes I wished mine were billygoats, too! xoxo 🙂 Ally

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

