Red Pepper Soup

This recipe is turning out to be a longer project than humanly necessary.

Step 1: Looking through my recipes I find this hand written note….for Red Pepper Soup. oooh lovely I thought.

Step 2: My brain is utterly cluttered so I search and search…is this Aunt Suzanne’s hand writing? or my Uncle Andre’s???

Step 3: Call my parents.  My parents call me back.  (side note: my dad has “issues” with long distance phone calls.  Rule is: you call him and really really fast tell him to call you back.  As far as he is concerned his long distance plan is the only one that works….whatever, this is not 1950 Dad, long distance calls are not going to break the bank)

Step 4: My mom finds her copy of said recipe (that’s after she put the phone down to go look for it…while I am on the line!)  Puts my dad on the phone because he needs to review his version of it. (have I lost you yet?)  He tells me in DETAILS how he likes to make his soup based on his brother’s version….oh for the love of GOD!  I have 4 red peppers that are about to die or walk themselves to the compost this is ridiculous!

Step 5: Hang up the phone, go to grocery store….put my foot in my mouth in front of someone I know….make soup for dinner.

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter

1 medium onion diced

4 red bell peppers diced

2 garlic cloves chopped

1 teaspoon each fresh basil, fresh thyme and fresh oregano

1/4 teaspoon hot sauce (or less to taste)

Pinch chili powder (or chipolte chili powder or to taste)

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

6 cups chicken or vegetable broth

2-3 tablespoons heavy cream (optional)

How to:

In a large pot melt your butter.  Add your onion and your garlic.  Cook until soft and fragrant on medium to low heat, 3-4 minutes.  Careful not to burn your garlic or it will taste bitter.  Add your red bell peppers and cook for another 5 minutes.  Add your fresh herbs, hot sauce and chili powder (if using).  Mix well and cook for 1-2 minutes more.  Add your flour, mix well and cook 2-3 minutes while constantly stirring.  You want to cook off the taste of raw flour.  Add your chicken broth at once and stir well.  Bring your soup to a boil (gently it’s not a contest to see who will have a volcano on their hands)  Reduce to a simmer and cook for another 10 minutes.

sweating your onions and garlic

sweating your onions and garlic

lots of chopped red peppers

lots of chopped red peppers

don't forget to let the flour cook for a few minutes

don’t forget to let the flour cook for a few minutes

almost there.....

almost there…..

Using an immersion blender or a blender, puree your soup until smooth.

    oh, look at this beautiful color...just like Fall leaves

oh, look at this beautiful color…just like Fall leaves

You may want to add a tablespoon or so of cream when serving the soup or nothing or my way:

I love to add a few croutons and a dollop of homemade pesto

I love to add a few croutons and a dollop of homemade pesto

Printer friendly: Red Pepper Soup

Peace and Call Your Parents,

Isabelle

P.S. yes, again I put my foot in my mouth….well it was more my eyes.  I gave this lady the evil eye because of something her kid was doing in the store…turns out I know her….I should say I “knew” her.

Recipe also here:

8 thoughts on “Red Pepper Soup

  1. LOL and nodding my head to absolutely everything you wrote about, Isabelle — what a hoot! Your soup looks fantastic — love the crouton and pesto topper idea, too!

  2. This sounds amazing and I LOVE that your parents are quirky with the long distance! I remember when it use to cost a fortune! We just brought my father into this decade and he purchased a SMART phone! Now if you call him, he’s apt to text you and ask what you want!

  3. I Just Love You! Could we be related? ~smiles thinking we are a lot alike~ Thank you once again for a Fantastic Recipe of a Dear One and a Wonderful Story with it!

    Thank You, once again, for sharing on Thursday’s Treasures. ❤ and Hugs!

  4. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

