The perils of watching TV late at night: Rice Pudding

I like to go to bed early.  But once in a while I will lose track of time and something on the Food Network will catch my attention.  I tend to get engrossed in a show and cannot stop watching; what if the next recipe is awesome, what if they talk about a new restaurant I want to try…what if…that’s usually a bad sign for the next morning.

I had one of those nights not too long ago.  Duff (from Ace of Cakes) has a new show called Sugar High.  I am not a sugar fanatic BUT when he went to Brown Betty Dessert Boutique to taste test their rice pudding, well, I was hooked.  First of all, the mother-daughter team is so darn sweet and loveable.  Their pudding looked delicious and easy to make.  I couldn’t pass it up.  I went on-line immediately and found the recipe.  I have to make it.

this takes Custard Rice Pudding to a new level!

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus more for greasing pan

3/4 cup white rice

5 cups whole milk

5 egg yolks

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup white sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons cornstarch

1 teaspoon grated lemon zest

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 cup heavy cream

1/2 to 3/4 cup raisins, optional (I didn’t use raisins…too many “raisin complainers” at my house)

How to:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 13-by-9-by-2-inch baking pan with butter.

Using a double boiler over medium heat, cook the rice in the milk uncovered for 25 minutes, and then covered for another 25 minutes, until the rice is thoroughly cooked. If the rice is still a little too firm, let sit on the burner over low heat for another 10 minutes. Cool to room temperature.

a double boiler is as exciting as watching paint dry…

While the rice is cooking, make your egg mixture by combining the egg yolks, vanilla and salt in a bowl. In another bowl, combine the sugar, cornstarch, lemon zest, cinnamon and nutmeg.

I don’t want to brag but look at my beautiful egg yolks from my chickies!

Add the egg yolk mixture, dry ingredient mixture, 3 tablespoons butter and the heavy cream to the cooled rice, mixing between each addition.

Pour the mixture into the prepared baking pan. Add the raisins, if using. Set the entire pan in a water bath and bake for 1 hour. If you use raisins, halfway through the baking you have to stir the bottom by sliding a knife along the sides (this is so the raisins will not gather at the bottom) without disturbing the custard. Bake until the rice pudding is no longer liquid. It will have solidified and a slight caramel colored crust will have formed on top. Cool and refrigerate until serving.

another exciting event: the water bath…but it’s a MUST

Note: this recipe makes a lot of rice pudding.  I decided to split it between a few containers and send some with Matt to the fire station.  The boys always like a homemade dessert.

Look at the beautiful golden color of this pudding:

this is even better when chilled for 12-24 hours….trust me

Here is the link to the Food Network’s recipe: Rice Pudding

Here is the link to Brown Betty’s web site: Brown Betty Desserts

Printer friendly: Rice Pudding

Peace and Perils,

Isabelle

Find my recipe here as well:

10 thoughts on “The perils of watching TV late at night: Rice Pudding

  1. Isabelle, I indulge in the same thing… sometimes my best cooking happens between 10 and midnight, lol. Your rice pudding looks creamy and delectable — will have to treat the hubby (and co-workers and friends) to a batch. Thanks!

  2. This looks too amazing for words, Isabelle! I completely understand how this happened! I’m a late night person and there are times when the spirit strikes and I GOTTA make something! Fortunately, it’s just hubby and me and he’s used to me!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

