Chocolate Espresso Tart

This was my redemption, my thank you for being such a great dad to our daughters, you are my MAN!  Way to go!  Awesome!

AKA: thanks for not making me go to the “My Chemical Romance and Blink 182” concert with the girls.

That’s right.  My sweet husband took our daughters to see 2 bands in concert on Saturday night.  I am not a concert fan.  I have a bit of an issue with crowds.  Now, don’t get me wrong, he wasn’t all that excited to go but he and his friend Shawn took 3 kids (2 middle schoolers and 1 high schooler) to see this lovely screaming fiesta!  He deserves a treat.

Sunday night for our family dinner, I am making steaks on the grill…not just any steaks but steaks we just got from a local farm…organic grain fed no hormones STEAKS!  YUMMY!

Also, since he noticed this great tart in a book I brought home from the library….a great, beautiful and visually perfect cookbook by Mrs. Martha Stewart…or is it Ms….I don’t know anymore.  Anyway, in this book I have found (so far) 4 recipes that I MUST try and share with you.  But Matt zoned in on this tart.  I wanted to surprise him.

The lovely cookbook

Also just so you understand the high standards ahead of me, here is a look at Mrs Stewart’s Tart:

Look at those rosettes....(please keep that in mind when you laugh at mine)

Ingredients:

For the ganache:

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate finely chopped

1 1/4 cup heavy cream

2 tablespoons ground espresso (Martha wanted “best quality” honestly…I used coffee grounds…I don’t drink espresso…I am hyper enough…ask around)

For the crust:

1 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder (I have no clue if mine is Dutch or not…I didn’t see any clogs)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup sugar

1 large egg

3/4 teaspoon vanilla

3 tablespoons heavy cream

For the filling:

1 1/2 cups Mascarpone cheese (12 ounce)

Make the ganache: Put the chocolate into a medium heatproof bowl.  In a small saucepan, bring cream and espresso to a boil.  Pour through a fine sieve over the chocolate.  Let stand 2 minutes, then whisk until completely smooth.  Let cool to room temperature, stirring occasionally, 30 to 45 minutes.

Make the crust: Sift flour,salt and cocoa into a medium bowl.  With an electric mixer on medium speed, beat butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla and mix until combined, scraping down the sides of bowl as needed.  Reduce speed to low.  Gradually add flour mixture in 3 batches, alternating with the cream.  Shape dough into a thick rectangle; wrap in plastic.  Refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350F

Roll out dough between 2 pieces of lightly floured parchment to a 16X6-inch rectangle, about 1/4-inch thick.  Press dough into a 14X4-inch rectangle tart pan with a removable bottom.  Trim excess flush with rim.  Pierce bottom of shell all over with a fork.  Refrigerate or freeze until firm, about 30 minutes.  Bake until dry, 18 to 20 minutes.  Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely; unmold.

With an electric mixer on medium-high speed, beat ganache until soft peeks form, 6-7 minutes.  Transfer to a pastry bag fitted with a 5/8-inch star tip.  (are you for real….do we have to be this precise….can you tell I am loosing patience here)

Spread mascarpone cheese evenly over bottom of tart shell with an offset spatula (or a knife!)  Pipe rows of ganache rosettes, one next to another, on top of mascarpone to cover.  Tart can be refrigerated, covered, up to 1 day before serving.

Lesson(s) learned….I didn’t really read the recipe.  I saw the pics and thought: “I can whip that up…” OK whatever.  Do yourself a favor: use the sieve when you’re done with your cream and espresso beans…I had to do it later after it had hit the chocolate.  It got ugly.  I forgot to pierce the bottom of my shell…it puffed up…oh well.

Here’s the ugly truth:

Matt saw it and said: "it's like a mousse on top, right?" He is so sweet 🙂

Please note, that I did this on a Saturday night while waiting for a new mattress to be delivered, I might have been drinking a bit of wine (irrelevant)….I didn’t read the recipe before I started.  OK…you get it.  I failed. It was an EPIC fail.  It happens.  I really don’t mind.

I know it's ugly but it actually was still very delicious and decadent.

Here is where you can also purchase Mrs Stewart’s lovely book: Pies and Tarts

Here’s a link to her recipe: Chocolate-Espresso Tart

Peace and….whatever I am going to bed,

Isabelle

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Espresso Tart

  1. Isabelle, reading your blog is a guaranteed SMILE. Your tart was NOT a dismal failure — in fact, I wish I could have a slice right now! Lol that we were both in a “ganache” mood… 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh that gooey mess looks divine… I wish I had a few … well maybe more than a few bites of your so called failure… looks really good to me.

    So was it? HUH?

  3. It may not have the piping on top, but it still looks amazing! I bet everyone enjoyed the tart AND the steaks. (I’m glad you didn’t have to go to the concert – I wouldn’t have wanted to, either)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

