Raspberry Vinaigrette

I went Raspberry picking the other morning with my friend Chris.  We have been going every year pretty much since I moved to Indiana.  Picking them fresh is always a great way to eat more.

Three years ago on our annual picking trip, I was minding my own business and calmly picking away when this man approached me.  I smiled and said hello.  It was mid-week, therefore not too many people were in the fields.  Chris was a few yards away.  The man looked straight at me (get ready for this) and started to yell at me.  Not a quiet yell, no a full on in my face type of yelling.  I was frozen, nothing was making sense.  I was trying to understand what he was saying, and I guarantee you I had the dumbest most confused look on my face.

Here’s what he was saying/yelling: “Don’t you know picking etiquette?  Don’t you know, you don’t ever pick in the same row as someone else?  You have no clue what you are doing, this is unacceptable!”  WHAT?  Are you kidding?

My reaction?  Typical Isabelle’s nervous reaction…I started to laugh.  He didn’t like that.  NOT at all.  He was yelling more and walking away.  In retrospect, I wish I could have simply said: “sir, this is a family orchard, lots of kids and people picking and enjoying the fresh air.  Should you wish to have your own row of raspberries to pick, maybe you should plant some at your house.”  But I didn’t…

He would have not liked it this past Saturday, kids and adults everywhere, not just picking in the same row but some on the same bush as me.  I didn’t care.  There’s always plenty to go around.  Sometimes you meet nice people and have the most interesting conversation.  He wouldn’t know that!

Raspberry Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

1/2 cup fresh raspberries

4 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil

2 teaspoons basil, thinly chopped (see pic)

1 teaspoon agave syrup (or honey…if that’s how you roll)

Salt and Pepper

How to:

Easy way: put everything in a blender and push on….there you have it: vinaigrette

Other way or the Isabelle likes to make her life complicated way: Using a mortar and pestle, crush your berries until you have a nice puree.  Transfer your crushed or pulverized berries to a large bowl.  Add your vinegar and mix well.  Constantly whisking slowly add your olive oil and make an emulsion.  Add the rest of your ingredients and mix well.   There you have it: vinaigrette!

The not so easy way...but a lot more fun way😉

Nicely chopped basil....basil + raspberry =awesomeness

Note: this is very much to taste, I like my vinaigrette quite tart (like me!) but if you like it sweeter go ahead and add a bit more of the agave or honey. Try using the organic stuff…it does taste better!

delicious and so pretty

Serve over a bed of fresh organic lettuce, arugula, a few walnuts, dried cranberries and feta cheese….OH MY…so fresh, what a sight!

This vinaigrette is also delicious over grilled chicken or pork.

Printer friendly: Raspberry Vinaigrette

Peace and not in my row,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Raspberry Vinaigrette

  1. I never heard of such a thing re: row picking etiquette — (like yelling at someone is “etiquette?” Ahem.) Anyway, glad you survived to tell the tale — and to share this recipe! I like “your way” best, too!

  2. Wow! I never know how to handle in-your-face rudeness….I would have most likely done the same thing! My HUSBAND, however, would have calmly invited him to move away from HIS row!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

