ADJUST…Could I Please?

To adjust:

1 : to adapt or conform oneself (as to new conditions)
2 : to achieve mental and behavioral balance between one’s own needs and the demands of others
Thank you Merriam-Webster On-line dictionary. 🙂
I gave in….to myself.  I know its sounds so weird but I finally broke down and evaluated, re-evaluated and re-re-evaluated what I was doing.  Don’t get me wrong I didn’t stop working out or increase my workouts. (I think some people would have me locked up if I did that!)
No, what I did was think about my complaints/problems and admit it was time to tweak my mojo.
So far:
-I have been a true advocate of a certain brand of running shoes…I had to give them up.  Enter new shoes and new insert…yep I am getting old!
-I have been preaching from my soap box about hard (extra hard) mattresses to sleep on….yesterday because I have not slept in months, we bought a new “foam” mattress.  Turns out we have bad shoulders and this hard mattress seemed to have been part of the problem….or at the very least not helping the situation.
-I have been experiencing nausea and other not so pretty things I wont talk about here, so I finally decided to call my doctor and get tested for Crohn’s Disease (both my mom and my grand mother have it).  It’s time I find out, and stop pretending I am immune to it.
When doing the same thing over and over again, gets your the same old results or even worse: you feel your going backwards.  Well it’s time to adjust and change things.

I too fall into my ruts/my plateaus and I need to review and change things.  It doesn’t please me at all, I love being a creature of habits.

This is sitting down and looking at the issues, finding answers, accepting defeat and finally finding new options that fits me at this moment and time!

Even professional athletes re-evaluate their games, their techniques and how they see themselves.

Note: I truly believe in exercising,  100% and no one will ever make me see differently.  For me, anyone who has health issues will alleviate most of their problems simply by living an active lifestyle. … AND by active I mean: move it.  We are such a society of quick returns, quick fix, a pill for this and a pill for that…let’s just go for a walk.  I know exercising don’t fix everything but it helps you have a better approach to most ailments.  Which is why when I adjust my routine, exercising is still a daily commitment and not optional.
Please don’t stop being your own best advocate…don’t be your own worst enemy either.  Look for answers, look for a better way and adjust.

your pace.... (please notice: no re-touch on the pic...yuck!)

or mine

Peace and Love,
Isabelle
by the way this is one of my favorite t-shirts, I wear when I run, especially when I know it will be a difficult run.  Because with this t-shirt it’s kind of embarrassing to stop running and walk….

5 thoughts on “ADJUST…Could I Please?

  1. Isabelle the Philosopher — I like it. Our bodies are the true mirrors of our health, our pace, our thoughts — and when the bod says, “Adjust!”, it’s time to adjust. Great post, my friend!

  2. Are you kidding about needing retouching? You look gorgeous as is, Isabelle. I also think fitness solves more problems than meds and supplements. Although I AM pretty sedentary; I can injure myself just sitting on my couch.

    You will be relieved either way with your diagnosis. Even if you do have it, you don’t have to hide and avoid it anymore. You can face it head on successfully.

    Enjoy the rest of your wonderful, short week!

  3. Oh what a wonderful post and just so timely in my life right now. I need to lose weight desperately. I have diabetes and do not want to be on medication any longer. Exercise is truly my only alternative. I walk, but that is not enough. I need to make the committment to myself to get in a run every day. This post helped me decide that. Thank you.

  4. Tu es encore aussi belle que la dernière fois que je t’ai vu….vers 15 ans….
    Amicalement, Marie-Claude..
    Bonne nouvelle routine de gym…bye bye

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

