Wine “Can” Chicken

I know, I am forever trying to change things up.  Just give me a chance to explain.  I love chicken, I love wine…me no likey beer…so I improvised!  This is more a technique than a recipe.  But let me tell you once you get the hang of making this chicken you will become a Picasso of Flavor!  You can change it up as you go and use what you have on hand.  What I like is that it is as easy to make a big roaster chicken as it is a small.  All you need is a little more time.  You just get amazing leftovers.  Perfect for salad or a frittata the next day!

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken (4-6 pounds)

1 empty beer can or soda can (rinsed well)

1 cup white wine

1 twig fresh rosemary

2 garlic cloves crushed and finely diced

3-4 tablespoons olive oil (depending on size of chicken)

1 teaspoon chili powder (mine was chipolte chili powder)

1 teaspoon fresh basil roughly chopped

1 teaspoon fresh oregano (I only had dried so I used a little less)

How to:

Preheat your grill.  You will have to cook your chicken with the “indirect” heat method, which means that you will want your chicken to sit on an OFF burner while the other burners are still on medium/high.  But first you must heat your grill with ALL burners on to get the grill extremely hot and ready to rock your little chicken’s socks 😉

Next fill your empty can of soda or beer with 1 cup of wine, rosemary (you may have to break it in half to fit) and 1 of your garlic cloves.  Set aside.

In a small bowl mix your olive oil, chopped garlic, chili powder, basil and oregano.  Using your lovely hands massage your mixture all over your chicken, inside the cavity and if possible under the skin.  Don’t worry it will get messy and ugly but consider the fabulous moisturizing you are giving your sweet hands….you could be paying big bucks for this!

This is an action shot...really awesome isn't it? :)

This is an action shot…really awesome isn’t it? 🙂

Next sit your chicken on the can making sure it will sit properly and not fall over.  You may have to get bossy with the chicken but I have faith in you, be firm and let the chicken know you mean business.

I was bossy and see my chicken standing to attention!

I was bossy and see my chicken standing to attention!

Time to go to the grill, turn off the middle burners (I have 6 burners so I turned off the 2 middle ones) and sit your chicken on the grill.  Close the lid and cook for about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 hours.  Juices should run clear.  Let your chicken stand for 10-15 minutes prior to carving so you don’t lose all the fantastic juices.

Look at the lovely color and the smell is divine

Look at the lovely color and the smell is divine

Serve….oh my chicken in heaven this is good.

YUMMY!

YUMMY!

Printer Friendly: Wine Can Chicken

Peace and kitchen manicures,

Isabelle

Come check out my recipe also linked on:

12 thoughts on “Wine “Can” Chicken

  1. There is just something funny about seeing a chicken all sat up like that. Like it is saying hello 🙂
    This looks good.I am only a fan of girly beers or the watered down 64 cal stuff that I put lemon juice in so what’s the point! I love the wine in the can idea!

  2. What a terrific idea! I’ve had the beer kind, but WINE would be oh so much better… Thanks, Isabelle! (And I love your action shots and pampering tips.) 🙂

  3. What a fabulous post…I love the saying’Picasso of flavour’…looks so tender and delicious. Nothing like a well cooked and tasty bird, and all that pampering!

  4. Football season is here. Which means tail gaiting. I remember seeing this post in my fb newsfeed but couldn’t remember who posted it. Thank god for Google. I was telling my b/f about it today, b/c he has season tix to the Dolphins and tail gates and always does beer can chicken at least once. I told him about the wine can chicken today and he laughed at me and said I was crazy. So glad I found who posted the newsfeed. Thx Isabelle. I’m emailing this link to him. I’m making him try this… and then apoligize to me. lol

  5. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

