7-UP Pound Cake

I have a weird but healthy love for Jeanne Robertson.  She is a stand-up comedian.  She is a  100% clean comedian.  She is a true Southern Bell.  I think she is one of the funniest woman ever.  She gets it.  I want to be Jeanne Robertson…although I am uncertain she likes to cook…so I want to be funny like her, Southern, tall, an ex-pageant queen, but one that cooks!

You have to check her out on youtube.com, one of her funniest clip is about teenage daughters.  Sometime to make myself feel better, I go to youtube.com and just watch her clips.  Here is one of her funniest one (to me anyway).

Note: the fact that ME of all people has mentioned (above) that I want to be an ex-pageant queen will send my true ex-pageant queens Cheryl and Aislinn into a laughing fit but that’s OK…you can’t be everything.  I, sadly, am not pageant material…not in a bad way but in a “can you imagine Isabelle in an evening gown walking down the runway” kind of way!😉

OK, so Jeanne makes  a 7-UP pound cake that she takes to ALL events (mostly when someone is sick or has passed).  She even gives it to some of her audience members!  I had to make it.  So I went on her web site.  I decided the easiest way would be to email her…I really didn’t have my hopes up that I would hear from her but it was worth a try.  Within 1 hour her assistant Toni (whom she talks about in her act) emailed me back, telling me where to find the recipe (on her web page) and the OK to blog about it.  HOW COOL!

No one is sick around here, but my friend HaeWon has invited me to lunch at her house.  I can’t show up empty handed so I decided to make her a 7-UP pound cake.  She more than anyone will appreciate this story.  Also she just won a cooking contest for Spam, I know Spam, who knew?  She was on our local TV the other morning doing a cooking demo.  SO FUN!

WAY TO  GO HAEWON! Keep it up!  She could even win a trip to Hawaii!  I say: “Bring on the SPAM!”

The recipe makes 2 of these lovely loaves🙂

Ingredients:

2 sticks Margarine (I only buy butter but I actually went to the store and bought margarine…you can use butter)

1/2 cup shortening

3 cups sugar

11⁄2 teaspoons lemon extract (give or take a little)

11⁄2 teaspoons vanilla extract (sometimes more)

5 eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour (measure before sifting)

7 fluid ounces Diet 7-Up® (to cut calories)

How to:

Preheat oven to 300°.
Put butter or margarine under a kitchen light until it’s soft.  Beat it with the shortening and sugar with a mixer.  Add lemon and vanilla extracts. Add now so you won’t forget.  Cake tastes funny without ‘em.  Beat some more.  Don’t bother adding eggs one at a time. I throw all of them in at the same time. First, take off shells. Don’t worry about adding flour alternately with the 7-Up. I don’t alternate. Dump it all in. Go for it!  Turn mixer to highest level.  Stand back.  Add more 7-Up if it looks dry. Sprinkle in more flour if it looks too moist. (This is not rocket science.)

Spray a 10-inch tube pan with Baker’s Joy nonstick baking spray with flour. (No need to flour.) (Important: Be
generous! Trust me.) Or split the batter and use 2 (8-inch) tube pans. (This will give you two cakes—math.) Bake for 1 hour, or until cake tests done. (Remember: It takes longer to cook one big cake than 2 smaller ones. Higher math. Think about it. Adapt.) To test for doneness, poke a knife or a broom straw in and out of cake until nothing sticks.

Take whatever you cook out of the oven. Let it sit for 30 minutes before flipping over on a plate. Flip the cake. Not you. Waiting a lot longer will require a chiseling step—it gets ugly.

These were the actual directions from Mrs. Robertson.  I can’t make stuff like that up…I told you she was funny.

The cake has this beautiful crust….so yummy

I did 2 loaf pans.  It took well over an hour…more like 1 hour 15 minutes!

Here is the link to Jeanne’s 7-UP pound cake (and the story behind it): Taste of the South

Printer Friendly: 7-UP Pound Cake

Peace and Funny Stuff,

Isabelle

p.s. Here is the picture Haewon emailed me this morning about her pound cake.

HaeWon said she was glad she ate a piece at lunch because this is what happened when the kids got home from school!

7 thoughts on “7-UP Pound Cake

  1. I LOVE that clip! My friend made a seven up cake for card night and the clip where she sent her husband out for ingredients came up…and we laughed ourselves silly watching this! PLEASE tell me you’ve seen that one! How wonderful that you received an email back! GREAT post and I’m sure everyone will love the cake!

  2. LOL, I’ve been measuring that way for years, too! I don’t have any aspirations to be an ex-pageant queen — but FYI, I played piano for one of the contestants in the talent competition at the Miss Snowflake pageant and she won.🙂 (I didn’t get a tiara, though — darn!)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

