Aunt Rhonda’s Coffee Cake

If you have a recipe you are famous for, sometime it will be your own worst enemy.  I love to make my corn bread but honestly at times I wish people would request other things.  Aunt Rhonda (Matt’s Aunt aka Aunt Joyce’s younger sister) makes this Coffee Cake that the entire family loves.  So much so that I have seen her make 3 or 4 for family gatherings.  One to eat that day, one for the host to hide somewhere, and one to split and take home between all of us.  There has been hurt feelings over this cake.  There has been firm requests for this cake.  When Aunt Joyce had her cooking camp for kids in the summer, EACH kid got to make a cake and take it home to his/her family.  How cool is that?  She also gave the family a copy of the recipe….that’s how I got mine, because the girls went to her camp.  Otherwise I would still be waiting!

Aunt Rhonda's Coffee Cake

Ingredients:

For Cake Batter:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 sticks butter at room temperature

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup sour cream

For Sugar Topping:

6 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 cup chopped pecans

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350F

Grease a Bundt cake pan.  Set aside.

In a small bowl prepare your sugar topping by mixing your 6 tablespoons of sugar, cinnamon and pecans.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine your flour, baking powder and baking soda.  Set aside.

In your mixer, cream your butter and sugar until soft and pale yellow.  Add your eggs, one at a time.  Add you vanilla and mix well. Add your sour cream and mix.  Add your flour mixture at once and mix, do not over mix.  Remove your mixer and finish by hand, making sure to scrape the bottom of the bowl to combine everything well.

Start by putting 1/3 of your cake batter in your prepared pan.  Sprinkle with a 1/3 of your sugar mixture.  Repeat 2 more times.  Put in your preheated oven for 1 hour.

In the oven we go...well the cake goes, I don't go in the oven

Too hot to handle...like me...LOL

Serve at room temperature.  Also delicious heated in the microwave and topped with a little butter.

Super Moist and Lovely Marbling...pic doesn't do it justice!

Note: this cake freezes very well.  Make sure to let it thawed at room temperature.

Printer Friendly: Aunt Rhonda’s Coffee Cake

Peace and New Recipes,

Isabelle

Find my recipe here as well:

9 thoughts on “Aunt Rhonda’s Coffee Cake

  1. Isabelle – this sounds AMAZING! I’m allergic to cinnamon and I love coffee cake….. I’m glad you appreciate the cake AND the constant requests to make it. I’d love to have a big ol’ piece!

  2. Looks as good as you make it sound. But, in the list of ingredients, baking powder is listed twice and no baking soda. I changed the second one to baking soda before I printed it. Is this the right one to change? Thanks for sharing!

  3. Enjoyed your photo captions, lol.🙂 This cake looks warm and inviting — I love coffee cake (or any excuse to have coffee!) — it feels like “autumn” is in the air somehow!

  4. Oh My Goodness! That is Heavenly! I wish I had some right this second!

    Thank you so much Isabelle! Please tell Aunt Rhonda she has made me extremely happy! ❤ and Hugs!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

