Jenny’s Delicious Chicken Salad

I have talked about this salad before.  I have actually put Jenny on the spot to give me her recipe.  Our mutual friend Jennifer will be so jealous…. 🙂  The thing is,  Jenny makes this salad a lot.  She loves to cook and takes it to numerous parties or any potlucks she attends.  Yet no one is ever able to get a “real” recipe from her.  Not too long ago, Jennifer actually said to me: “I cannot believe it but I think Jenny gave her chicken salad recipe to someone that works in our building…you know the ACTUAL recipe, with measurements and ingredients!!!”  Who would have thought a simple chicken salad recipe could cause such a ruckus (I love that word).  So now I have it.  Take that Jennifer!  Just kidding, she knows I’m kidding.

I should make the chicken salad for our next Euchre Party…not only is Jennifer attending but so is Jenny….I love to cause a RUCKUS!  I’m kidding I wouldn’t do that!

FYI: the recipe below is “as is” from Jenny.  I know there isn’t very specific quantities on the spices but I will make a note next to them.  Make it your own, taste as you go….consider it your lunch! 🙂

Delicious...make sure to have a copy of the recipe handy

Ingredients:

10-12 Chicken Breasts (boneless and skinless)

1 large can Chicken Broth (better low sodium)

1 (14 oz) can Crushed Pineapple (well drained)

2 (15 oz) cans Mandarin Oranges (well drained)

4 Celery stalks (very finely diced)

1 med Red Onion (very finely diced) optional

Approx. 3 cups Hellman’s Real Mayonnaise (I only buy light mayo)

Garlic Salt (2-3 teaspoons)

Celery Salt (2-3 teaspoons)

Pepper

Paprika (1-2 teaspoons)

Basil (1-2 teaspoons)

Poultry Seasoning (1-2 teaspoons)

Green & Red seedless Grapes (quartered) (about 1 cup)

Chopped Pecans (1/2-3/4 cup)

How to:

Start by cooking the chicken breasts in chicken broth and water in a large pot.  Simmer until no longer pink.   Here is where I do my first seasoning.  I sprinkle garlic salt, poultry seasoning, pepper and a little basil over chicken while cooking .  Cool, then dice or cube.

In large bowl add chicken, drained pineapple, mandarin oranges ( I usually cut them up a little and drain again so not too much juice left), finely diced celery and finely diced onion which I use sometimes but not every time.  Mix well!  Next more seasoning!  I generously sprinkle with garlic salt, celery salt and pepper.  Then I add my mayonnaise.  Mix well making sure to scrape bottom.  Add more mayonnaise if needed until desired creaminess.  At this point, you may want to add more of the above seasonings to taste.  I usually end up with another generous sprinkle of each.  When well blended and seasoned add quartered green and red grapes and some pecans.  Mix well.  Top with pecans and paprika!

Note: this recipe is very much to taste.  I didn’t have a red onion so I used a yellow onion.  Matt is not a big fan of pecans so I didn’t put too much.  Finally I only had green grapes.  Still delicious.

Jenny usually serves the salad with crescents but I also like little slider buns.  Crackers are also delicious.

Here is my little sandwich:

I know it's a ridiculous sandwich...I ate every single bite

Printer Friendly: Jenny’s Delicious Chicken Salad

Peace and Ruckus (I couldn’t help myself)

Isabelle

15 thoughts on “Jenny’s Delicious Chicken Salad

  1. I hope you weren’t disappointed! It’s alot easier than it tastes isn’t it? Just alot of chopping! And bad as it is I haven’t brought myself to do the light Mayo but I know I should! Did it taste as good? Looks delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Isabelle, you create a ruckus whether you intend to or not! 🙂 Great chicken salad recipe! I make one similar to this (minus the pineapple), but I “fancy it up for the girls” with a little honey and OJ in the dressing. (Served on lettuce leaves — or slider buns!)

  3. Pingback: Chicken Salad « Latin Killed the Romans

  4. Pingback: Summertime Salads | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

