Simple Roasted Tomato Sauce

Today was back to school at house, I know some of you are sick of me talking about the kids and all that is going on around here.  But safe to say, if you have had a teenager then you know how everything is a big deal…especially starting high school.  To top my day, I have about a million things I want to get done prior to my sweet mom and dad coming to visit us.  I haven’t stopped…or it feels like I haven’t.  I went to Walmart today…I love Walmart…I forgot my camera…I was really mad at myself 🙂

Here is an extremely easy dinner, perfect for back to school or any other crazy night you might have going on at your house.  PLEASE serve with wine.  😉  (obviously no wine for the kids….but the adults will be eternally grateful!)

Ingredients:

2-pound tomatoes, any style or size you like (I had a combination of roma, beef, and cherry…my garden is temperamental, I get what I get) make sure you cut them in half or quartered if big

1 large onion, roughly chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

salt and pepper

1 can (6-ounce) tomato paste

1 cup vegetable broth (you may also use chicken broth)

1 cup basil, finely chopped

3 cloves garlic, finely diced

1 teaspoon dried oregano

Optional for serving:

8-ounce sliced mushroom

2 pound ground beef (browned and drained)

How to:

Heat oven to 375F

On a large baking sheet put your tomatoes and onion.  Add your olive oil, salt and pepper, toss to coat everything.  Put in your preheated oven for 30 minutes.  Increase oven temperature to 425F and roast for another 15-20 minutes until tomatoes are soft.

Lovely roasted tomatoes and onions

Remove pan from oven and put everything in a large pan on medium heat, add your tomato paste, garlic, basil, broth, salt and pepper.

Garlic and Basil...pure magic

Mix everything together

Using an immersion blender puree everything together until smooth with no visible lumps.  You could also use a blender if you prefer, simply let the ingredients cook for at least 10-15 minutes prior to pureeing.   Finally add your dried oregano.

magic in a pan....the smell is absolutely divine

You can use the sauce as is or you may want to add some ground beef and mushrooms.  I choose to add all this even though it was to be meatless Mondays…I had extra teenagers at the house and it was the first day back to school….hungry kids 🙂

Delicious back to school meal

Printer Friendly: Roasted Tomato Sauce

Peace and for the love of god have a glass of wine,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Simple Roasted Tomato Sauce

  1. You HAVE had a lot going on! Sit down. Breathe. 🙂 Have that glass of wine. Cheers!

    P.S. I love this sauce on pizza, too — slightly chunky. With wine. 😉

  2. Nice! I have done something very similar but with my mom’s homemade canned tomatoes in the middle of winter, so now I guess I need to try it with roasting the fresh ones!

  3. Nice! I’ve done something sort of similar with my mom’s canned tomatoes in the midst of winter … but now I think I need to try roasting some fresh ones! Thanks for the idea!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

