Coconut Cookies for ME!

As I previously stated, I am not a big sweets kind of girl.  Give me a bag of salt and vinegar chips and I will destroy it…of course nicely washing it down with a bottle of chardonnay…nice visual isn’t it?  Don’t judge, we all have our weaknesses.  Another one of my weaknesses is coconut, sadly I have developed over the years an allergy to fresh coconut, and when I say allergy I mean full on crazy should be taken to the emergency type of thing.  I refuse to go to the emergency, so I usually will be sick like a dog for a while.  I don’t eat fresh coconut anymore.  It’s not worth it.  I can however eat dried coconut (sweetened flake coconut).  Probably because it has been extremely processed in order to keep in our pantry that nothing of the “fresh” problem is left.  I can live with that.  I try not to think about all the chemicals it took to get it there… I live in denial…usually in denial with a bottle of wine.

Coconut Cookies

So today to celebrate back to school, I am making myself homemade coconut cookies!  Hurray me!  Again, don’t judge, the girls have a big chocolate overload cake from Sunshine’s birthday yesterday.  Otherwise I would make them something special🙂

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup butter (softened)

2 eggs

1 1/2 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 tablespoons milk

2 cup rolled oats

1 1/2 cup coconut flakes

How to:

Heat oven to 375F

Line your cookie sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat.

In a medium bowl mix your flour, salt and baking soda.  Set aside.

Cream your butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy.  Add your eggs one at a time.  Add your milk and vanilla, mix well.  Add your dry ingredients and mix until just combined, do not over mix.  Add your rolled oats and your coconut, gently combine everything.

Using a spoon or medium ice cream scoop spoon your cookies on your cookie sheet.  Bake in your preheated oven 12-14 minutes.

ready for the oven

Let cool for 5 minutes or in my case eat right away and burn your mouth!

hot hot hot

Completely unnecessary; coconut cookie chocolate ice cream sandwich😉 But so delicious!

Printer friendly: Coconut Cookies

Peace and non emergency,

Isabelle

note: Matt said the cookies were a bit “spongy” for his liking.  I like that because they feel light and I like to convince myself I can eat more.🙂

Find recipe on:

3 thoughts on “Coconut Cookies for ME!

  1. You really DO love your scoops, don’t you?! Those are the most perfect cookie dough balls I’ve ever seen!

    I’m so glad you got your coconut “fix” — will definitely be making these for ME, too!🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

