Cheesy Corn Casserole

Cheesy as in yummy not as in lame… Just wanted to clarify that.  I do a lot of cheesy stuff, and by that I mean lame.

Lame: slang : not being in the know : square

I fear I am always in a state of lameness, cheesiness, clumsiness….dorkiness!  I haven’t shown signs of improvement over the years.  I have in the past hit my own eye opening my car door….think about this for a second….I stood there opening my car door to get in, and for some crazy reason I didn’t “calculate” the distance between my body (i.e. my face) and the door.  Let’s be realistic here…. I have been driving since I was about 15…I’m 42.  So: I have been driving for 27 years.  If on average I drive my car once a day (to be on the lower end of this) that means getting in the car at least twice per day (getting in to go somewhere and getting back in to go back home)…Therefore, I have opened a car door: 19,710 times.  Hard to believe it happened, right?  (that was sarcasm, a whole lot of it!)   It felt like I almost lost my eye.  I got home and honestly I thought it looked pretty bad.  Mr Man didn’t notice.  But when I told him how it happened he busted out laughing.  I ought to punch him in the eye…but I won’t…I am so clumsy I’d probably miss anyway.

Let’s get cheesy and corny…

Cheesy Corn Casserole

Recipe found in Good Housekeeping Magazine, August 2011.  Their web page: Good Housekeeping Magazine

The actual name was Two-Cheese Corn Gratin…you’ll see why I couldn’t use the “two-cheese” title.

Ingredients:

1-pound yellow squash, cut into 1/4-inch slices (I only had a zucchini, so that’s what I used)

1 -pound ripe tomatoes, halves, seeded, cut into 1/3-inch thick slices

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper

2 tablespoons chopped basil

1 1/2 cup whole milk

2 tablespoons cornstarch

3 large eggs

1/4 cup snipped fresh chives

5 ears corn (by my calculation that is about 6 cups)

3/4 cup panko

3/4 cup shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese (or see below)

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese (to be honest I had the Mexican blend shredded cheese so that was my “2” cheeses)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 400F

In greased shallow 3-quart baking dish, arrange squash (zucchini for moi) and half the tomatoes in single layer overlapping.  Drizzle with half of oil; sprinkle with 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/8 teaspoon pepper, and half your basil.  Roast 25 minutes or until slightly dry.

vegetables ready to be roasted...I forgot to take the pic with the basil but I did use it!

nicely roasted...notice the basil 😉

Meanwhile, in a large bowl, whisk milk, cornstarch, and 1/8 teaspoon each salt and pepper until cornstarch dissolves.  Whisk in egg and half of chives.  Set aside.  Cut corn kernels from cobs.  Set aside.  In another bowl combine panko, 1/4 cup cheddar, 1/8 teaspoon each salt and pepper, and remaining basil, chives, and oil.

Sprinkle remaining cheeses evenly over roasted vegetables.  Top with corn; pour milk mixture over all.  Place raw tomatoes around edges slightly overlapping.  Sprinkle Panko mixture evenly over top.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until browned and knife inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool in pan for 10 minutes.  Enjoy 🙂

Here’s the exciting adventure:

First the cheese....

Next was the corn

next the milk mixture and top with tomatoes

Finally the panko mixture

Fresh out of the oven, look at the beautiful color of the panko and cheese...yum

Printer Friendly: Cheesy Corn Casserole

Peace and know your distance,

Isabelle

14 thoughts on “Cheesy Corn Casserole

  1. LOL! I can’t count the number of times I’ve done that (and I still have the dents in my head to prove it.) Thank you for “doing the math” — now every time I get in the car without bonking my head, it improves the odds! You’re a wonder, Isabelle — and so is your “two cheese” corn casserole! 😉

  2. This looks amazing… not something I would normally give the time of day, but you make it look so delicious!! I might have to try it soon!! 🙂

  3. Isabelle, this looks delicious!! I will be trying it out very soon.

    PS. I am a big clutz too and depth perceptionally challenged as well. I could see me doing the same thing. 🙂

  4. Ha. I’m proud to be a member of both the physical and mental dork clubs. I just ate it hard in a parking lot, and my knee is the ugliest it’s ever been. And of course, like you, I had to post about on my blog. Dork power!

    Your recipe and photos are making me my stomach growl, Isabelle! But I’ll wait till Greg gets home from the hoard today, before I do any cooking.

    Thanks for the idea…

  5. OMG – that was laugh out loud funny! Cheesy is yummy not lame! Bwahahaha! Honestly, you got my funny bone with this one.

    …and the bonus? You also made an awesome casserole!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

