Dinner on the Fly: Braised Rolled Pork

This time of year always sneaks up on me.  I have no idea why!  I mean I have 2 daughters who have done the “back to school” ritual for the past 10 years….why oh why am I surprised?  And to make matters worse, both their birthdays coincide with the start of school.  This also hasn’t changed for the past 14 years (for Sunshine) and 12 (for Bear).  Trust me, I was present when they came into this world (ha ha ha) and either the pain of labor sent me into a new found magical la-la-land or I am just not getting it…for the past 14 years!

These past 2 weeks have been crazy, yep crazy is really the only word that comes to mind.  I have been running around like a mad woman (no reference to Mad Men the T.V. show since I don’t watch it…I know… how awful!)  I am now in the final stretch of school registration, school supply shopping, back to school clothes shopping, trying to get the girls birthday presents and “birthday” celebration planning…geez I need a drink!

One thing that I love to do throughout all this craziness is cook.  I know it may sound a bit weird but it relaxes me and I find that “forcing” the sitdown dinner on the family helps keep some sort of calmness to our house.  I must say that I usually gravitate towards time friendly dishes but wholesome nonetheless.

Here is a very very easy dish to prepare with lovely flavors and liked (usually) by all: Quick Braised Rolled Pork with Prosciutto.  I was reminded of this recipe the other day when Greg from “Bienvenue a ma table” posted a beautiful picture of a stuffed pork loin 2-ways.  It was simply beautiful and so appetizing.

Braised Rolled Pork with creamy orzo

Note: there is no exact measurement for this recipe simply because you make as many as you need.  1-2 pork chop per person depending on appetite.

Ingredients:

Boneless Pork Chops (you could also use boneless skinless chicken breasts)

Prosciutto, sliced

Basil leaves (more for serving)

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil

Garlic cloves (2 per 4 chops)

White wine (1/2 cup per 4 chops)

Chicken Broth (1 cup per 4 chops)

Butter, softened at room temperature (1 tablespoon per 4 chops)

Flour (1 tablespoon per 4 chops)

How to:

On a large clean surface pound your chops between 2 pieces of plastic wrap, to about 1/4-inch thick.  Lay your pork chops on a clean surface and top with 1 piece of prosciutto and basil leaves.  Carefully roll each chop and secure with a toothpick.  Don’t forget to salt and pepper.

Simple delicious ingredients; lovely prosciutto and basil

In a large saucepan add 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil and turn heat to medium high.  Sear each chop on all sides to a nice golden brown color.  Do not overcrowd your pan, work with 4 or 5 at a time, in order for all to get a nice crust going.

Getting their crust on... as oppose to getting their groove on...

When all chops are ready return them all to the pan and add your wine.  Bring this to a gentle boil and reduce heat to medium low.  Let your wine reduce for 3-4 minutes and add your chicken broth and garlic.  Salt and Pepper.  Cover and let this cook for 30-45 minutes, I am forever opening and closing my lids when I cook.  I know it’s a bad habit but it’s my kitchen and I can do what I want.  I like to rotate, turn and stir the chops while they cook.  I feel “chop useful”!  Do what you like but don’t let the braising sauce burn and/or overcook.

After 30 minutes, remove your pork to a side plate and keep warm by draping it with a piece of foil.  In a small bowl mix your flour and butter, no visible lumps please.  Add to your sauce at once and using a whisk carefully mix everything together.  Turn up the heat and while constantly whisking bring to a gentle boil.  Your sauce will thicken nicely.  When you have the consistency you like (for me it’s when it coats the back of a spoon).  Simply serve your chops and pour a healthy amount of sauce over everything.  Sprinkle with torn basil leaves.

Matt's plate, he wanted to take a picture of it...thought it looked better than mine!

Note if your sauce seems too thick simply add a little bit of chicken broth to loosen things up.

Note: this method of thickening a sauce is called beurre manie: flour and butter kneaded together used as a thickener in sauces. (more info )

Beurre Manie

Printer friendly: Quick Braised Rolled Pork

Peace and birthdays,

Isabelle

Go check out my recipe here as well:

Jane Deere Fusion Fridays

6 thoughts on “Dinner on the Fly: Braised Rolled Pork

  1. This looks great!
    I, too, am in the throes of crazy back to school time. But I am lucky I have 2 boys who don’t want to get new clothes yet 🙂
    Great post! I agree…forcing everyone to the table does calm the evening down! Great to see you yesterday 🙂

  2. Isabelle, your cooking instructions are always such fun to read! 🙂 I’m glad it’s “your kitchen” — you just do whatever you want, and keep writing about it!

  3. Pingback: Creamy Lemony Chicken Rice Soup « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

