Homemade PopTarts because I am stubborn!

As I have mentioned more than once, and sorry to be so redundant, but I refuse to buy poptarts.  At this point, it has almost become a fight to the death combat between the girls and I.  OK so maybe not that bad but I won’t buy them.  It’s pretty apparent to me that the girls love the taste, but I can’t get over all the chemicals they use to make them.  It just doesn’t seem normal.  So I was pretty excited to see the Food Network Magazine share a homemade version of Pop Tarts, they call them Breakfast Tarts.  I was willing to give it a try.  And it’s an easy way for me to sneak in some wholewheat flour.  Also fairly easy to change the flavors to what your kids will enjoy.

Homemade Tarts with Fresh Strawberry Glaze

Here is the link to the Food Network (magazine) Breakfast Tarts: Grape Jelly Breakfast Tarts

I decided to make our Strawberry Breakfast Tarts, simply because I have strawberry preserves and fresh strawberry I can use for the glaze.

Ingredients:

For the tarts:

3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting (I did 2 cups all-purpose and 1 cup whole wheat, it’s your choice)

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons cold shortening, cut into small pieces

2 sticks cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

1/2 cup jelly (flavor of your liking I did strawberries)

1 large egg beaten

1/3 cup milk

For the glaze:

3/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

2-3 strawberries sliced

1 teaspoon sugar

3-4 tablespoons water

How to:

Make the tarts: Pulse the flour, granulated sugar and salt in a food processor until combined. Add the shortening and about one-quarter of the butter and pulse until they disappear into the flour, about 30 seconds. Add the remaining butter and pulse a few times, until the mixture looks like coarse meal with pea-sized bits of butter. Add 1/2 cup of ice water and pulse once or twice, until the dough just comes together. Turn the dough out onto a piece of plastic wrap, form into a disk and wrap tightly; chill at least 1 hour and up to 1 day. (For quicker tarts, use refrigerated pie dough and skip this step.)

On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough into a 10-by-14-inch rectangle, about 1/8 inch thick. Cut out ten 4-by-3-inch rectangles using a paring knife. Transfer to a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Chill at least 15 minutes.

Note: this dough recipe makes way more than what they suggest you need.  You could actually cut out 20 rectangles and make 10 tarts.  I started with 5 and I will try 5 more in a different flavor.

Cut dough ready to go for chill #1

Spread 5 of the dough rectangles with a heaping tablespoonful of jelly each, leaving a 1/2-inch border all around. Brush the edges with the beaten egg, then cover with the remaining 5 dough rectangles. Crimp the edges with a fork or use the toaster pastry press to seal. Chill at least 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Tarts filled and ready for chill #2

Bake the tarts until flaky and golden, 20 to 25 minutes, brushing with the milk after 10 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool.

Just chillin'...well just coolin'

Meanwhile, make the glaze:  in a small saucepan place your sliced strawberries with 1 teaspoon sugar.  Add 1 tablespoon water and cook on low-medium heat for 5-10 minutes until soft.  Let cool.  Place your cooked strawberries in a large bowl and add your powdered sugar.  Adding one tablespoon of water at a time start mixing your glaze until your get a smooth consistency.  Glaze your cooled tart with your glaze.

Rustic...a word I like to use instead of not perfect!

My tarts were definitely more rustic looking than Food Network.  Also the wholewheat flour added a bit of nuttiness to them.  I love the glaze with the chunks of strawberries, very pretty.

Printer Friendly:Homemade Breakfast Tarts

Peace and I’m rustic,

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “Homemade PopTarts because I am stubborn!

  1. You’re right they ARE very pretty and I bet they taste a whole lot better than the store bought! Stick to your guns, girlfriend….these are amazing and your children will remember these WAY more than the store bought. Can you see them reminiscing about them to their kids? I can!

  2. Oh my these look so YUMMY! I don’t like buying the store pop tarts either. I have always wanted to try and make them myself. Thanks for sharing this recipe..I’ll have to give it a try some time soon 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

