Stuffed Grilled Pork Chops and an uneasy morning!

This might be one of those TMI post….I apologize in advance.  BUT this is typical me and if you have been reading then you will just get a good laugh and know this is just another day in the life of Isabelle….

I am getting back into the swing of things after a few days fishing and doing pretty much nothing but soaking up too much sun.  Today has been a long day, oddly enough I am enjoying every minute of my chores at home.  Even though it all started pretty early.  I decided that since I wanted to get a lot done today, I should go to the bootcamp workout at 6am, which meant I had to get up at 5:30…so I did.  I was miserable for the first 2 minutes until my friend Jill made me laugh with her Elmo juice story….guess what she puts in her Elmo juice? vodka…yep, that’s my kind of girl!  Maybe Jill should write a guest post on how to make great martinis with juice boxes!

OK OK enough about drinks….So here’s where my day took an interesting turn.  After too much laundry folding, laundry hanging, chicken checking, watering this and that….and let’s not forget the workout PLUS another 1 hour of elliptical workout at home, I thought maybe I should have breakfast.  I got all excited about this great bread I have, plus the delicious pate I get to spread on it (don’t knock it till you try it) AND an extremely hot cup of coffee….I take ONE bite.  My youngest daughter Bear looks at me and says: “uh, mom? Cooper smells like poop, I think he rolled in it, you need to wash him.”  She then turns around, sits down and start eating her lovely breakfast.  I freeze, darn it, I don’t want to wash a dog, I want to eat…eat ….eat…

To make the situation more pleasant (imagine my sarcastic tone!) the dog is not cooperating.  AT ALL!   He is trying to run away from me.  I am spraying myself with the hose, soap gets in my mouth (I was hungry…), the dog is trying to get back in the house soaked and sudsy…this is ridiculous.  Glad my kid is enjoying her breakfast!  My appetite’s pretty much…gone!

How can I be mad at such a cute face?

Pay back: I am making Mr. Man and I a delicious dinner and since the girls have friends over (again!) they are having pizza and breadsticks!

For us: Stuffed grilled pork chops, fresh pasta with homemade pesto. YUMMY 🙂

Ingredients:

4 pork chops (5 if small)

1 medium tomato diced small

1/2 cup fresh basil roughly chopped

1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1 slice country bread (stale is better) cut into very small pieces.

1 garlic clove finely diced

olive oil

salt and pepper

How to:

First you must make a pocket in each pork chop.  I like to use a small paring knife and carefully make the incision (I am NOT a doctor!).  I try to keep the opening as small as possible but still have a nice pocket on the inside.  This takes some practice and it’s not a problem if you mess up because we can tie the chop with cooking twine and all the good stuff will stay inside!

Make sure you 'run" your knife on the inside to make a large pocket

Next, you need to make your stuffing.  This is the flavor factory part.  Once you know the flavor you are looking for, go ahead and try new combinations.  In a medium bowl mix your tomato, basil, parmesan cheese, bread, garlic, 2 tablespoon olive oil, salt and pepper.  Stir to combine and set aside.  Time to start your grill.

Stuffing, similar to a panzanella salad

While your grill is heating up, start filling your pork chops with your stuffing.  Your pocket should be full but not overflowing.  Secure your chops with toothpicks or cooking twine.  I like to do a criss cross pattern with my toothpicks.

Filled to the brim and ready to go!

Place your chops on the grill and cook until no longer pink, about 10 minutes per side.  Make sure you heat on medium-low so you don’t burn your pork.

Slow and steady...no raging inferno here 🙂

Time to serve, as I said, we ate ours with pesto pasta…to keep the italian flair going!

So delicious and moist....don't forget about your toothpicks!

Here’s a look inside:

Ins't that pretty? The flavor was so fresh, we could taste it in every bite.

Printer Friendly:  Stuffed Grilled Pork Chops

Peace and easy does it,

Isabelle

Note: for my Aunt Suzanne: TMI means Too Much Information (when you share too much personal information!)  🙂

Recipe also linked on: Simply Gourmet Photography &

14 thoughts on “Stuffed Grilled Pork Chops and an uneasy morning!

  1. Funny post! Sounds like a day at my house…well…except for the bootcamp part. I have been away from home for alomost 2 weeks and we have just ran 2 miles every morning.

  2. Sorry Cooper kept you from your breakfast….I’m okay with TMI as long as I’M not eating! :o)
    Pork chops looked absolutely delicious!

  3. I realize this has been up for some time but hope you will respond. I was surfing for a grilled stuffed pork choop recipe and found yours – looks and sound great. Question: Did you melt cheese on the chops? In the last coupleof pictures it looks like some cheese has been melted on the top.

    Thanks for the recipe.

    • No Cheese, I think it’s either my bad picture taking or an optical illusion 🙂 They were grilled and maybe the reflection??? But if you are a fan of cheese by all means you could add some after done grilling? thank you so much for stopping by!

  4. I really feel like I have been missing your blogs… they always give me chuckle. So today as I sit here at work -have an hour left and no patients.. I have had time to go through your facebook posts and get to your blogs that you have posted… This recipe sounds delightful and saw the comment about the cheese and may just have to try some… although will have to put in the stuffing so my hubby can’t see it.. what he doesn’t know won’t kill him… Going to buy some more porkchops.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

