Fried Zucchini…it was a gift!

The gift in fact was a HUGE zucchini given to us by my oldest daughter’s “sweetheart”….wow…that wasn’t easy to say.

I have a hard time thinking of her (and her sister) in “terms” of having boyfriends.  YUCK!  I mean, I tell them all the time that boys are gross, messy and smelly.  Sorry, but I gotta work with what I have.  If you have boys in your house, please feel free to tell them girls are demanding, emotional and all around too much to handle!

Said zucchini....pic doesn't do it justice!

Said zucchini….pic doesn’t do it justice!

So, this zucchini has been taunting me…in fact it puts my garden to shame.  How can a zucchini this big exist in a garden 20 acres away from my own and all I have are minuscule vegetables?  I need to go investigate this pretty soon.  What are they putting in this garden that I am not aware of?….intriguing.

Also, the thought of me going over to her “friend’s” house is simply mortifying for Sunshine….ha ha ha…it is so cool to have that power….ooops was that my outside voice?

Ingredients:

1 large zucchini (see pic) or 2 normal size ones

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (you might need more)

3 eggs

1 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs (you might need more)

Salt and Pepper

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese (plus more for serving)

Canola oil for frying

Sea Salt (or kosher) for sprinkling

Spicy Dipping Sauce (recipe to follow)

How to:

OK, so first thing first, I like to peel “most” of the skin off my zucchini (see pic).  If you like the skin on then go ahead leave it on…or peel it all off.  It’s all good. Cut your zucchini the size of large cut fries (see pic).

My super duper technique for peeling a zucchini

    Size: 4-5 inches long by 1/2 to 3/4-inch thick

Size: 4-5 inches long by 1/2 to 3/4-inch thick

Take a large cookie/baking sheet and line with 2 layers of paper towels, set aside.

Next set up your assembly line.  1.  Flour (a touch of salt and pepper goes a long way) 2. Egg (whisk please) 3. Panko breadcrumbs with a touch of parmesan (you may as well add a touch of salt and pepper!)

In a large pan, add your oil.  I like canola oil for this but since I won’t be in your kitchen supervising then use what you like but please NO olive oil…it just won’t work.   Don’t start your burner just yet.

Working with a few pieces at a time, dip your zucchini “fries” in your flour, then your eggs and finally your panko.  Set aside until you have a few to start frying.

Heat your oil.  CAREFULLY place each piece in your hot oil and DO NOT leave this program (it’s the fat happening but it’s oh! so delicious!).   Turn each piece once to get a nice golden color.  Place your paper towel lined baking sheet.  Sprinkle lightly with sea salt.

If you are doing a large batch of these you may want to turn on your oven to a low 200 degrees and keep your zucchini sticks warm while finishing the rest.

I made a LOT...hence the paper towel lined baking sheet!

I made a LOT…hence the paper towel lined baking sheet!

Time to serve.  Put your fried zucchini on a serving platter and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

that's good stuff!

that’s good stuff!

OH MY! OH MY!….this is so crunchy and full of flavor.  The zucchini is tender yet still has a great bite to it, and the touch of sea salt just adds enough punch for me to eat a whole bowl full.  Move over french fries, mama’s got zucchini…..I need to stop typing this is disturbing at best.

Spicy Dipping Sauce:

1/2 cup light mayo

1/2 cup sour cream

2 small banana peppers diced finely (I usually have the pickled banana peppers)

1/4 teaspoon adobo or chipotle  chili powder

How to:

Mix all ingredients together and serve with Fried Zucchini (also great on sandwiches)

Have fun with this, make as much or as little as you want.  I know the fat, the frying….I get it.  Indulge a little…it’s worth it!🙂

Printer friendly: Fried Zucchini

Peace…girls rule & boys drool,

Isabelle

11 thoughts on “Fried Zucchini…it was a gift!

  1. Mmmm, I LOVE fried zucchini but haven’t had it in ages. Yours looks a lot better than how my mom made it; they were disks and the breading always came off. If only I had a nice person to give me a large zucchini!

  2. Oh, MY! These look amazing! Whenever I have fried squash (I don’t fry at home and it’s a big treat for me when I do have them) they’re always sliced. I much prefer the way your cut them. Your dipping sauce is amazing!

    BTW – I always say that boys are smelly and….chicks rule, boys drool! Brilliant minds and all that! (My husband and I play girls against boys cards every Friday with friends – so it works!)

  3. Isabelle, I picture life at your house as … fun! (If not entertaining!) Please feel free to use your “outside voice” any time you want.🙂 Also, thanks for the amazing dipping sauce and “permission” to indulge in fried foods once in awhile. You do the South proud.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

