Ricotta Chocolate Chips Ice Cream

Yes, I know more ice cream….well it’s summer and I bought ricotta cheese thinking I was going to make my friend Josee’s Tiramisu but in an unexpected turn of events (not really) I forgot about the ricotta.  I have to use it today….oh the drama!  Also since I am unable to leave my house and we ran out of ice cream….oh the saga!…(not really)  Truth is; Matt’s truck is in the shop, he had to go to work (someone has to) and he still has physical therapy.  I was nice enough to let him have my car.  Yes, that’s the kind of nice gal I am!

It is still blistering hot around here.  I know this is not news to anyone especially if you live in the Midwest.  I have 4 teenagers at the house and although they are still sleeping, come around 2-3 this afternoon, they will be hounding me for more food.  I searched the internet super duper highway and I found Giada’s ricotta ice cream.  Recipe looks great, I have all the ingredients, it includes chocolate…I’m set, no need for me to reinvent this recipe!

Ingredients:

1 (15-ounce) container whole milk ricotta cheese

1 cup whole milk (as usual I only had 2%)

1 cup simple syrup, recipe follows

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

How to:

In a medium bowl, whisk together ricotta cheese and milk until smooth. Add the simple syrup and vanilla extract. Stir to combine. Pour the ricotta mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s directions. Add the chocolate chips 10 minutes before the end of freezing.  Confession: I actually put 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips…might not have been my best idea, the ice cream maker was so full, it was busting at the seams…but then again I like my ice cream FULL of chocolate chips!  Put your ice cream in a container and set in your freezer for a few hours….or eat it right away, it’s your ice cream: HAVE FUN eating it!

LOTS of chocolate chips...I don't regret my decision anymore :)

LOTS of chocolate chips…I don’t regret my decision anymore 🙂

Simple Syrup:

1/2 cup water

1 cup sugar

How to:

In a saucepan, combine water and sugar over medium heat. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until the sugar has dissolved. Take the pan off the heat and allow the syrup to cool.

So delicious, at first I was a bit put off by the “grainy” nature of the ice cream but it only took one taste to make me a believer.  The simple syrup is a very clever way to add sweetness without having to cook the ice cream mixture on the stove top.  I like that because as you know my attention span is next to nil when hungry or craving sweets!

So refreshing...and chocolaty!

So refreshing…and chocolaty!

Here is the link to the lovely Giada’s recipe on Food Network’s website: Giada\’s Ricotta and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Printer friendly: Ricotta and Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Peace and Full,

Isabelle

Note: my daughters really loved this ice cream….no I did not tell them about the ricotta…DON’T send hate mail 😉

12 thoughts on “Ricotta Chocolate Chips Ice Cream

  1. This is funny! I have actually made this, my sister asked for it for her birthday so I made it using dark chocolate chips. i didn’t like it with dark chocolate. This is one instance where I should have followed the recipe like you did!
    The rest was fabulous though. Never thought I would ‘get’ the ricotta part but it really MAKES it 🙂
    So…you don’t like hate mail? 😉

  2. Looks awesome! Too bad I’m lactose intolerant. 😦 I seriously want to get an ice cream maker just so I can make my own ice cream with soy milk. One of my daughters is allergic to dairy, so that would be the only way she could ever have ice cream.

    • Lesa, you need to try to make ice cream with coconut milk. Not only is it perfect for lactose intolerant but it’s the perfect “drink” just like kale is the “perfect” food. Your body will love ya! 🙂

  3. Yum! It’s amazing…whenever I let me husband have the car, I always think of a zillion things I HAVE to do and places I HAVE to go! I hope your day went smoothly!

  4. Pingback: In The Middle Of Things (Homemade Ice Cream Sandwiches) « a little lunch

  5. Pingback: Pasta with Raw Tomato Sauce and Homemade Ricotta | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

