Beef Braciole

Love this pretty place on the lake

After all my complaining about wanting hot weather….well….it’s really hot out here.  I love it.  No complaints…but it’s actually too hot to cook on the grill.  So for my brother and his family’s last dinner with us I decided to make beef braciole.  I love the taste and it is fairly hands free.  Which means more time to visit and socialize with everyone.  We’ve had such a great visit and the kids all got along so well, absolute perfection.  Interestingly enough all four are watching Scooby Doo, no one wants to be outside in this kind of heat.  The dogs are hiding in the basement and the chickens are finding the shade.

This afternoon, Matt and Christian took the kids to the County Fair while Dee and I went shopping (I know that was kind of mean of us….but I did buy Matt a shirt!).  We thought they would at least try to hang on for a few hours….no luck, they were home before we got back.  The heat got the best of them.  I don’t blame them, I wouldn’t want to be walking around looking at cattle, goats and pigs in 105 degree weather….and the smell….just sayin’!

Time for me to make them a nice supper!  Here is my recipe, I actually doubled it for the 8 of us, really easy to do.

Ingredients:

1.5 to 2 pounds piece of flank steak

4-ounces sliced Prosciutto

4-5 slices Provolone cheese

1/2 cup fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I always use Italian style)

1 large egg

2 gloves garlic finely diced

1 tablespoon dry oregano

1 large onion finely diced

1 14-ounce can crushed tomatoes

3/4 cup dry red wine

1 bay leaf

How to:

First you must “flatten” your steak.  I lay the flank steak between 2 pieces of plastic wrap and use my rolling pin to flatten it.  Here is a picture…not so great but I think you’ll get the idea:

Go ahead and take out your frustration 🙂

In a medium bowl mix your breadcrumbs, egg, garlic and dry oregano.  Salt and pepper.  Set aside.

Start by setting your steak on the cutting board with the grain the long way, you will roll from the wider side of the meat.  Which means you will be cutting against the grain, the meat will be more tender….in my opinion (please don’t send disagreeing mail…)  You must first lay your prosciutto, next goes your cheese, basil and finally your breadcrumbs mixture.  See the pics of the whole, very interesting saga!

First, the prosciutto

Next the Provolone cheese

Then the basil

Finally, the breadcrumbs mixture

Roll your meat and tie.  It will be a mess….that’s OK, it’s part of the fun and the flavor is all there!

Tie it all together

In a large dutch oven, put 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil and sear your roll 1-2 minutes per sides.  Add your onions and wine, let this simmer for 5-10 minutes to reduce slightly.  Add your crushed tomatoes, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and let cook covered for 45 minutes to 1 hour.  Remove the lid and bring back to a boil, cook for another 10-15 minutes to reduce and thicken your sauce.

1 hour or so later....pure happiness

Carefully remove the meat from the pot and slice.  Serve with pasta, cover with sauce and top with fresh Parmesan cheese.

So delicious and the smell is simply amazing

Printer friendly: Beef Braciole

Peace and hot hot hot,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Beef Braciole

  1. This is so delicious!!! I LOVED it! Thank you again for everything!! We are an hour into the ride home and I was just thinking about how good dinner was last night!!

  2. Looks good! We wold have went to the fair last night to see Jacob’s things, but we were still at the swim meet..outside…by a pool we couldn’t get in 😦

    I love that you used breadcrumbs. I have never done that and will try it next time!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

