Hot Day on the Boat and Corn Salsa!

I am so excited that my little brother and his family are here.  I miss seeing my nephews and I love watching them interact with their cousins.  Although there is a good age difference between our girls and the boys, they have a buddy system that is absolutely adorable.  Our bear is best buds with my oldest nephew Jac and Sunshine and the youngest Nic are fierce together.  They are so much fun to watch and listen to….oh the stories we will tell when they get older!

We decided to go and spend the day on our boat.  Get some sun, fish and most important for the kids: tubing!  Needless to say as soon as we got on the boat that was the first thing on their mind: “when do we get to go on the tube”….here they are, having so much fun:

Katie and Nic

Gabbie and Jac

Note: the buddy system was reverse while tubing….

For lunch, we made sandwiches and a simple corn salsa that all of us could enjoy all day.  It was so delicious and it is a great way to use any leftover corn you may have.

Ingredients:

5 ears of corn (cook and sliced off the cob)

1/2 red bell pepper ,diced

1/4 to 1/2 red onion chopped

1 tomato diced

1/4 cup cilantro chopped

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and Pepper

Splash hot sauce

1 jalapenos finely diced (optional, I didn’t use one because of the kids)

How to:

Simply put all your ingredients in a large bowl and toss well.  Taste and make sure your seasoning is right.  I like to make this the night before and have it ready to pack early morning.  Serve with corn tortillas.

Beautiful fresh ingredients make this salsa!

Printer friendly: Corn Salsa

Simple, healthy and loved by all 🙂

Peace and kids,

Isabelle

So just to make you laugh….guess who this is:

You know I love to have fun 😉

Find my recipe here as well:

 

9 thoughts on “Hot Day on the Boat and Corn Salsa!

  1. It looks like you had SO much fun! That corn salsa looks so delicious and refreshing! My husband is having a love affair with corn, so I know he’ll love this one!!

  2. Call me corny, but call me when you next make this corn salsa. Lerve this! Thanks, Isabelle.

    We make something similar at Thanksgiving as a relish.

    Call me.

    ~Corny

  3. LOVE this, Isabelle! I’m pretty much a salsa nut anyway… can’t wait to try this one. And y’all look like you’re having sooooo much fun! Ah yes, those were the days!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

